Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

NOTE:  This review will contain NO SPOILERS, but if I add a spoiler there will always be a note of warning.

Example: SPOILER 

(writing of spoiler{s})

END SPOILER 

IMG_20151104_113703

Title: Illuminae

Author(s): Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

# of pages: 599

My Rating: 5/5 stars

This book is so creative and filled with so many well written POVs. My favorite thing about this story is not the amazing group of characters, the authors, or the storyline. It’s the layout. This book is a series of information that is pieced together to create a cohesive story that keeps you on the edge of your seat. The whole time I read this book I had to tell my self to not peek over to the next page and see what would happen.

I have not read many SciFi books and was not even sure if I would enjoy them, the reason I bought this book was purely the cover. Now I’m happy that I did. The plot was interesting and there weren’t moments where you stopped try to piece together bits of the information because you were too focused on the storyline. I also loved that the entire book was not fast paced. I’m not a big fan of a story that just has characters running around the entire story.

There are parts of the story that aren’t written by main characters or even that you know the name of but they help create the flow of the story to they add a large amount of character development to the characters that would previously be unknown.

These characters are easy to connect with because they are outspoken and have qualities that people envy but they also make mistakes like any person would. They provide an interesting form of realism to the story that helps keep the story from turning unrealistic. (Not that it’s realistic it is fiction but still)

While I am not from the future the world setting here sounds intriguing and makes me want to live in this world. I would love to live in this futuristic world. Too bad I won’t be alive in 2575, I only missed it by 560 years right?

One of my favorite document views are the ones from the security cameras. The analysts have an amazing ability to put their individual spin on every scene and it helps you realize that these are not just computers that describe the documents but other people. It adds another perspective that makes you want to turn the page.

My overall favorite things were the format/layout and the characters themselves. This book kept my heart pacing and tears you away from reality and sucks you into their world.  I recommend anyone who love SciFi, struggle stories, or anyone who wants to read a story from an interesting format to give this book a try!

5/5 stars

10 thoughts on “Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

  1. Windie says:

    I want to read this book, but I cannot decide whether I should get the ebook or the physical copy. I like ebook because I could read it anywhere, but judging by the format, this book may be difficult to read on small device. Do you think that Illuminae is a type of book that should be read in physical format?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ashleigh says:

    I just got this book yesterday and will be starting it later today! Reading this review has made me even more excited to dive into it 😀 I’ve been wanting to get into more SciFi and I’ve read a book with similar formatting so I’m really hoping I love it, and will be writing a similar review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

