A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

NOTE:  This review will contain NO SPOILERS but if I add a spoiler there will always be a note of warning.

Example: SPOILER 

(writing of spoiler{s})

END OF SPOILER 

IMG_20151206_122054

Title: A Monster Calls

Author: Patrick Ness

# of pages: 205

My rating: 5/5 stars

Song Choice: Gravity by Sara Bareilles

*Note: Not all book reviews will have song choices.

A Monster Calls was not high on my TBR list, but I thought I’d give it a try. It looked short, and simple so I thought okay it will be an easy read without all the feelings. But I was wrong.

This book while it is short is in no way simple or easy. While you can quickly read it because of the child-like writing style it manages to capture you on the first couple of pages and attach you to it. With the mix of drawings and writing style you feel like you are actually Conor.

The pictures throughout the book play right along with Conor’s emotions and really help you to grasp the situation that he is going through. I’ve never read such a simple book that  made me feel so much.

Conor has a heart-wrenching story to tell, and he doesn’t even want to. The mix of emotions and the stories that are told in it are amazing and made me hit a whole new level of feels for younger level books.

I don’t know what age this book is exactly recommended for but anyone who is over ten could probably handle it, but I think the older you are the more the story will connect with you.

Overall this book was a hit in the feels that made you grasp that things that people see as good and bad, or light and dark may not be just that. It shows how the world is full of the “gray area” and how defining people of actions are hard.

5/5 stars

One thought on “A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

Leave a Reply

