Everything You Need to Survive the Apocalypse by Lucas Klauss

NOTE: This review will contain NO SPOILERS but if I add a spoiler there will always be a note of warning.

Example: SPOILER 

(writing of spoiler{s})

END SPOILER 

2015-12-07_06.21.39_1

Title: Everything You Need to Survive the Apocalypse

Author: Lucas Klauss

# of pages: 403

My rating: 3.5/5 stars

So this book was strictly a cover buy on Black Friday online shopping. That and it had apocalypse in the title, which instantly made me want it! I was hoping for some intricate zombie hunt or some sort of nuclear war or something to that effect. It’s not like that. But that proves how much I relate to the main character.

This book is focused on faith, family, and friends. When I first realized this I was pleasantly surprised. While the main character does not follow the many character traits that usually are put with faith he grows into them.

Phillip is the sophomore who can’t make decisions and basically just wants to get through life like most people. At the beginning of the novel he is this little insecure figure who wants people to ask the questions he’s too afraid to answer. By the end he’s a stronger character who, while still suffering some of those issues, has decided to live his life and try.

This is not a book about suicide, but about religion. Phillip perfectly shows the traits of doubt and fear but later, faith and knowledge. While there is not a major plot full of zombie killing adventures there is a subcontext full of emotion.

Personally this book hit me hard. I felt that I could connect personally with the thoughts he had, and understood where he came from when I didn’t.

This novel is not here to make fun of religion or try to force you into a religion. It’s meant to help people understand. (atleast that’s what I think it means) As a person who personally identifies with the religion that he is struggling to understand, it makes me feel better about not knowing all the answers.

Overall this book is full of amazing subcontext about the world of religion and dealing with Christianity in a light that does not portray it badly. The only down side was that I felt there was no need for love in this story. SPOILER I understand the idea of having him originally go to church for a girl but I felt that continuing of this relationship was pointless and did not add to the story. END SPOILER 

I recommend that anyone with an open mind to religion or anyone who is already a Christian to read it.

3.5/5 stars

 

 

One thought on “Everything You Need to Survive the Apocalypse by Lucas Klauss

Leave a Reply

