Book Recommendations:December 2015

So I was inspired by A frolic through fiction‘s blog posts about book recommendations and thought I would do my own. This is going to be kind of like a new years resolution where I will do this every month but I’m starting it in December-because why not? ( For her recommendations click here for part 1 and here for part 2!)

For December I am going to recommend favorite Christmas books, Classics I love, and some of my favorite reads for this year!

Christmas books: Everything that reminds me of Christmas time!

The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

I don’t think I’ve heard anyone say the Harry Potter series does not remind them of Christmas! This series is perfect for Christmas time even if you only read one or two it’s always great to have around for Christmas.

A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

I did not just pick this because it has Christmas in the title. I originally had to read this book in seventh grade but that did not discourage me from loving it! Charles Dickens is one of my all time favorite authors and I loved the fact that this book has so many outlooks on Christmas, plus it’s a Christmas book with ghosts!

Classics: The few I’ve read and loved!

I don’t know what it is about Christmas but it always makes me want to read classics.(Also weirdly these are all books that have been assigned reading for school that I just happened to love)

Pygmalion by George Bernard Shaw

Pygmalion is such an amazing book to me, and I haven’t really figured out exactly why. My friend just read it for school and we keep talking about all the different things about it from, defying gender roles to the way people view society and so many others. This is such an easy read but a very intriguing one.

A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

Again I love Charles Dickens and this is no exception! “It is a far, far better thing that I do than I have ever done; It is a far, far better rest that I go to than I have ever known.”  It’s a very intense read that I feel everyone could enjoy if you have the right mindset for it.

The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman

While this short story has a creepy factor added to it, it deals with serious problems and shows how they were dealt with in times where women were not as independent as they may have wanted. This is definitely for anyone who wants an insight on the mindset of a woman during the 1890’s.

Favorite Reads this year!

I am going to try and narrow it down to my all time favorites because there were so many that I loved this year! I narrowed them down to books that came out this year and then went from there.

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

This is my first V.E. Schwab book and feel like I need to marathon all of her books. The whole other worlds factor in this book made it an amazing read and plus look at that cover.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

So this book is completely amazing and one of the few Sci-Fi that I have read. The format of this book is so unique! I have a review for it, read it here.

Winter by Marissa Meyer

This book series is over! (insert crying emoji that I don’t know how to make on a computer) Of course this has to be a favorite read because it was 827 pages of pure awesome! I have a review for it, read it here.

 

 

3 thoughts on “Book Recommendations:December 2015

  1. Ashleigh says:

    Aw it’s nice to know I’ve inspired someone haha! I was actually on the look out for classic recommendations so this was quite helpful, thank you! Also, I’d completely agree with you with A Darker Shade of Magic and Illuminae, I’d recommend them any day 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

