Etiquette and Espionage by Gail Carriger

NOTE: This review will contain NO SPOILERS but if I add a spoiler there will always be a note of warning.

Example: SPOILER

(writing of spoiler{s})

END SPOILER 

2015-12-19_09.36.03_1

Title: Etiquette and Espionage

Author: Gail Carriger

# in series: First book in the Finishing School Series

# of pages: 307

My rating: 4/5 stars

Song choice: White Houses by Vanessa Carlton

*Note: Not all book reviews will have song choices

This was mostly another cover buy for me. I saw that it had steampunk elements in it and was intrigued. The most surprising element to me was the strongness of the female characters.

Through the whole book all the female characters had strong traits and were defying gender roles. I enjoyed this factor of a finishing school that taught women how to be strong not just “how to get married to a man of status”.  It was a breathtaking change to see that girls could be taught things that are previously related to boys but taught in a way that keeps them feminine.

Also there is great deal of funny scenes and sneaking around. Sophronia and Vieve are two characters that I closely related to, because in the beginning I was so excited by a girl who acted differently that I instantly loved Sophronia but then you met Soap and Vieve. Vieve really made me happy mostly because her aunt was accepting of what she wanted instead of trying to force her to conform to this female ideal.

Overall it’s a strong book full of amazing and strong female characters but also deals with the supernatural format in a plausable way. (I feel like I should be speaking in a more proper way from just reading it :D) I look forward to reading the second one, and would recommend to anyone including younger readers because it feels more directed towards them.

4/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Etiquette and Espionage by Gail Carriger

  1. SSJTimeLord says:

    Thank you for this post! I’ve been debating whether to pick this book up or not for a while now. I’ve read Soulless twice and would like to re-read it before going on to the other books in the Parasol Protectorate, but now I’d also like to read this one! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

