Jackaby by William Ritter

NOTE: This review will contain NO SPOILERS but if I add a spoiler there will always be a note of warning.

Example: SPOILER 

(writing of spoiler{s})

END SPOILER

2015-12-21_10.05.42_1

Title: Jackaby

Author: William Ritter

# in series:  first book in the Jackaby duology

# of pages: 299

My rating: 4.5/5 stars

 

The main character that you follow-Abigail Rook- made me so happy. Everytime she turned down a female gender role in this story I smiled. Other than that she does not act like a typical main character who is special or has something specific to make her “chosen” or “the one” or “a prophet” or any of those. She’s just a normal girl.

Jackaby is the special person in this story. He has this ability to see things no one can. He views the world behind the glamour that it has on. He is my favorite character in this story because he focuses so much on the world around him that he is oblivious to people around him.

The story blended well to me and while I could see similarities to Sherlock the supernatural side of it made Jackaby very different. Abigail Rook and Jackaby are the perfect pair of detectives, with her seeking adventure and him just being him it’s wonderful.

SPOILER My favorite thing about this was Chapter 13 and the letter that closed out the story. I loved that Chapter 13 added to the fact that Jackaby was far more aware of things than everyone thinks and it made me think that she eventually was going to get her notebook because what else would she be writing about this in? The letter to close out the story made me laugh so much because it also showed how oblivious Jackaby is and that ending line of the story “I completely understand.” was the perfect way to end the story. END SPOILER 

Overall I loved this book and would have given it 5 stars if not for the synopsis. I feel like that sounds harsh but I just could not get Sherlock out of my mind while reading. Tell me what you think. If you read this did you feel the same way?

4.5/5 stars

 

5 thoughts on “Jackaby by William Ritter

Leave a Reply

