My True Love Gave to Me by Holly Black, Ally Carter, Matt De La Pena, Gayle Forman, Jenny Han, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Myra McEntire, Stephanie Perkins, Rainbow Rowell, Laini Taylor, and Kiersten White

NOTE: This review will contain NO SPOILERS but if I add a spoiler there will always be a note of warning.

Example: SPOILER 

(writing of spoiler{s})

END SPOILER 

2015-12-22_01.21.31_1

Title: My True Love Gave to Me

Author(s): Holly Black, Ally Carter, Matt De La Pena, Gayle Forman, Jenny Han, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Myra McEntire, Stephanie Perkins, Rainbow Rowell, Laini Taylor,  and Kiersten White

# of pages: 321

My rating: 3/5 stars ( it was really close to 2.5/5)

Before I do individual reviews for each short story I have to say this. I felt like Mr. Scrooge while I read this. So many of them I did not love, they were okay but they were not great! I gave it three stars for those that I loved but realistically it should be 2.5 stars.

Midnights by Rainbow Rowell 3/5 stars:

I have loved every Rainbow Rowell book that I have read so far, which gave me high expectations. I feel bad for not loving this story and really wanted to, but well I just didn’t. I felt like there was no real reason for it. It seemed to be just strung together with no real problem. I enjoyed but did not love it.

The Lady and the Fox by Kelly Link 4/5 stars:

On Goodreads everyone was giving this story 1/5 stars and I can not figure out why. It had those feelings of insta-love but I enjoyed the whole mystery behind it, and it made me overall want a coat like this. I really did like this story.

Angels in the Snow by Matt De La Pena 1/5 stars:

This story… It was just uhh. I felt like I was forcing myself to continue on. There was nothing that made me excited to keep reading or even want to. The main character seemed weak and the love interest felt pushed. Everything about it did not excite me.

Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han 2.5/5 stars:

I loved the idea of this story. Santa adopting a girl who grows up surrounded by elves! I would devour that book. However, this did not live up to that feeling. It was full of insta-love, loneliness, and general Christmas stuff. (by general Christmas stuff I mean the stories that are similar or cliches) None of it felt fleshed out in the story and the whole storyline was a girl who liked someone who didn’t like her. Not for me.

It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins 3/5 stars:

This story felt cute and different but had some similar holiday themes. I really enjoyed that Marigold was determined to make a way for herself in the world. The two main characters felt realistic and seemed to have a normal growing romance. Liked this story and it made me smile.

Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan 1/5 stars:

Again a story that I had to force myself to finish. It all had this vibe of stupidity. The whole story I just kept asking WHY? why is all of this necessary? None of it felt natural and I kept thinking that there was no real need for any of it.

Krampuslauf by Holly Black 4.5/5 stars:

Loved this so much! I have been wanting to see that new movie Krampus and this made me even more excited. I loved the whole different take on the holidays, talking about things other than Christmas. Her idea for New Year’s Party made me happy and want to be there. The mythical amazingness of it all was just… well AMAZING!

What the Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth? by Gayle Forman 3/5 stars:

While the story felt relatable to a point but it had all the qualities of being rushed. The story moved really quickly but there were parts I liked. I got to a point where all I was thinking about was pie with cheese. Now I really want to try pie with cheese.

Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus by Myra McEntire 1/5 stars:

I was intrigued in the beginning but honestly I actually fell asleep while reading this. I liked the main character and everything but the whole changing for a girl felt like it has been done too many times.

Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White 3/5 stars:

Another cute story. I loved this small tiny area with the Christmas Cafe, and the sixth sense for food was cute. It felt a little cliche but overall was sweet.

Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter 3/5 stars:

This was really enjoyable until the end. I liked this whole spontaneous flight switching idea. The possibility of the main character having no idea where she’s going and having to be somewhere else was intriguing but then that ending brought it down for me.

The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer by Laini Taylor 5/5 stars:

I LOVED THIS STORY! It was so cute and different. I don’t have many words to think of how to describe it but this was my favorite story be far.

 

Now you can see why I felt like Mr. Scrooge. Which ones were your favorite? If one them was one I didn’t like tell me what made you like it so much.

3/5 stars

One thought on “My True Love Gave to Me by Holly Black, Ally Carter, Matt De La Pena, Gayle Forman, Jenny Han, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Myra McEntire, Stephanie Perkins, Rainbow Rowell, Laini Taylor, and Kiersten White

Leave a Reply

