The Marvels by Brian Selznick

NOTE: This review will contain NO SPOILERS but if I add a spoiler there will always be a note of warning.

Example: SPOILER

(writing of spoiler{s})

END SPOILER

image

Title: The Marvels

Author: Brian Selznick

#of pages: 664

My rating: 5/5 stars

This story is amazing, beautiful, and inspiring. I really feel like this is going to be a short review because all I want to say is go read it!

First, the format is interesting if you haven’t read Selznick before. He mixes intricate and beautiful illustrations in with the story to form one masterpiece. The first 391 pages are just illustrations. It causes you to focus but be drawn into the world this book creates.

As you start with words all of the images you just saw connect like puzzle pieces. I honestly do not want to say much about the plot because I feel like going into this with limited knowledge is the best way to read it.

I’ve read The Invention of Hugo Cabret and Wonderstruck which are also by Selznick but I was significantly younger. This makes me want to go back and re-read those.

The Marvels focuses on one boy and his hope for exciting adventure, the kinds you only find in books. (Sounds like all of us right?) This story is amazingly done and I honestly did not see any of the plot coming and felt so connected with all of the characters.

Overall I think there is no age limit on this book. Anyone can read it and everyone should! If you have read this comment and let me know what you thought because obviously I loved it!

“Aut Visum Aut Non.”

5/5 stars

 

3 thoughts on “The Marvels by Brian Selznick

Leave a Reply

