The Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

NOTE: all reviews are spoiler free unless otherwise stated!

IMG_2555.jpg

Title: The Daughter of Smoke and Bone

Author: Laini Taylor

# in series: 1st book in the Daughter of Smoke and Bone Trilogy

# of pages: 418

My rating: 5/5 stars

First of all this book helped me reach my goal for 2015 of 100 books! This was part of my Christmas haul and I don’t know how I waited this long to read it.

I loved this book so much! This book was full of mysteries and complex characters. I didn’t read the synopsis or any reviews of this book. I went in completely blind and I am glad I did.

The magic that this story contained was so different than the others I read and I loved it. The whole idea of having to give pain to the world to get wishes and magic our of it. It was such a new take on magic that I was surprised and happy with it.

By far the characters were my favorite. Brimstone, Zuzana, Karou, Akiva, and Izil. I loved all of them so much. Each character was unique and had their own traits that made them lovable. I also really loved that that Karou had blue hair! I really want to have at least part of my hair blue.

There were so many things I was not expecting to happen in this book and all the changes and ideas in it were amazing and surprising. I hope the next books are just as amazing as this one.

Overall this book was amazing and I loved it! It had well deserved hype.

5/5 stars

2 thoughts on “The Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

Leave a Reply

