December Wrap up and January TBR

I read thirteen books this month! I also reached my goodreads goal for the year of 100 books! I’m going to keep making TBRs for each month although it’s really unlikely I’ll follow it. My December TBR was

  • The Fiery Heart by Richelle Mead
  • Silver Shadows by Richelle Mead
  • Ruby Circle by Richelle Mead
  • Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas
  • A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness
  • Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs

I read The Fiery Heart, and A Monster Calls so obviously I am not that good at following my TBRs.

December Wrap Up

2015-12-31_11.28.36_1

I read 13 books as I previously said, although some of them were collections of short stories that I don’t own (not pictured). I managed to reach my goal after discovering that two books had not been counted in the challenge but were on my read-2015 shelf! Yay for mistakes!

The Fiery Heart by Richelle Mead

imgres

I am in love with this series and I really need to finish it. I don’t have any reviews because I plan on doing them as a whole. The main reason I love this series is because of Adrian!

5/5 stars

A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness

imgres-1

This book was so beautiful and heart wrenching. I loved every minute of this book and loved the illustrations that accompanied it. Read my full review here.

5/5 stars

 

 

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald

imgres-2

I had to read this book for school and I thought I would love it. I enjoyed it a lot and had many things that were interesting but I did not love it.

4/5 stars

 

 

Everything You Need to Survive the Apocalypse by Lucas Klauss

imgres-3

Just reading the title I was thinking zombie apocalypse book but was really surprised by the faith and friends in this book. It took me by surprise but also was a good read. Read my full review here.

3.5/5 stars

 

Etiquette & Espionage by Gail Carriger

imgres-3

I really enjoyed this steampunk school book! Why can’t I go to this school? It’s basically a spy school for girls, I mean what else could you want? And it floats?  SIGN ME UP! Read my full review here.

4/5 stars

 

 

Jackaby by William Ritter

imgres-2

This is the coolest story about supernatural (well I say that about all of them)! The whole solving mysteries and murders of the supernatural with a main character that cannot see it was so inspired. Read my full review here.

4.5/5 stars

 

Fantastic Mr. Fox by Roald Dahl

imgres-4

I read this last year at Christmas time and I re-read it this year! I loved roald dahl growing up and wanting to read something childlike for Christmas. I enjoyed it as much as I always do.

4/5 stars

 

 

My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories by 12 authors

imgres-5Okay so this book was not great for me. I wanted to get into the holiday spirit but that didn’t happen. I was basically Mr. Scrooge while reading it. It had some good stories but I don’t know if they outweighed the bad. Read my full review here.

3(2.5)/5 stars

 

The Fall of the House of Usher, The Tell Tale Heart, and the Raven by Edgar Allen Poe

imgres-6So these were all read separate but I am grouping them together because they are all by Poe. I have not read much by Poe but everything I have read so far I have loved and these were no exceptions

4/5 stars on all three

 

The Marvels by Brian Selznick

imgres

The first half of the book is done completely in illustrations while the second half is words. They combined in the most beautiful way and I fell in love with this story. Read my full review here.

5/5 stars

 

 

The Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor

imgres-1

Another amazing read for the year! I loved this book so much. Especially the magic and the characters. I still can’t believe I did not read this book sooner. Read my full review here.

5/5 stars

 

 

Currently Reading

So I am currently reading I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusack and will hopefully it will quick off my reading goal for 2016. I don’t quite know if I am going to set a goal because even though I met my goal this year it felt pressured.

January TBR

  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone (Illustrated) by J.K. Rowling
  • Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas
  • Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin
  • Being Henry David by Cal Armistead
  • I Am the Messenger by Markus Zusack

Hopefully I’ll actually read all of these but I am a mood reader so you never know! What’s your TBR for January and are you making a reading goal? Happy New Year and sorry for the long post but I read a lot this month.

 

Leave a Reply

