My Top 10 Books of 2015

Since the year is coming to an end I thought I should do my top reads for the year! I am not doing only books that came out in 2015 but the books that I read in 2015. (Also these are just in order I read them not favorite) Let’s begin!

 

#1 Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

imgres

Read in: February

Year Published: 2015

My rating: 5/5 stars

I loved this book so much! I don’t know exactly what made me enjoy it so much but all of the characters had something that made me keep reading. I’ve heard mixed reviews about this book but personally I loved it.

#2 A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

imgres

 

Read in: March

Year Published: 2015

My rating: 5/5 stars

This was obviously going to be a top read for me the moment I read it. I think as you’ll come to learn I love books with magic or anything that can loosely be considered magic. This was no exception. It was all amazing and all the different worlds were spectacular. Lila and Kell are adorable!

#3 Shatter Me Trilogy by Tahereh Mafi

images

Read in: March, June, & July

Year(s) Published: 2011, 2013, & 2014

My rating: 5/5 stars (on all)

This series was as beautiful as the covers. The struggle and war and just trying to figure out your life was great. I loved the transformation along with the internal struggles that take place in this series.

#4 The Darkest Minds Trilogy by Alexandra Bracken

imgres-2.jpg

Read in: March & April

Year(s) Published: 2012, 2013, & 2014

My ratings: 5/5 stars (on all)

So far this series is my favorite trilogy of all time! I’m not 100% sure why other than it was amazing! All of the struggle and having to live in a post apocalyptic world where there is a vague sense of government but nothing with real power was wonderful.

#5 The Harry Potter Series by J.K. Rowling

images-1.jpg

Read in: May & June

Year(s) Published: 1997, 1999, 2002, 2004, 2006, &  2007

My rating: 5/5 stars (on all)

This was my first time reading the series! In my middle and elementary school they had banned the Harry Potter series so I never was allowed to read it. I can’t believe they would ban such amazing books though because I loved this series so much!

#6 Red Rising by Pierce Brown

imgres-3

Read in: August

Year Published: 2014

My rating: 5/5 stars

I didn’t know much about this book but was so glad I read it. The whole dynamic of life on Mars and the caste system on society was amazing. Eo and Sevro were my favorite characters and I need to read the next book like right now!

#7 The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

imgres-4.jpg

Read in: August

Year Published: 2015

My rating: 5/5 stars

I need the next book! The storytelling in this book along with all of the characters were so amazing. I loved how Shazi was such a strong character, and felt bad Khalid. This was such a cute yet wicked story.

#8 Throne of Glass series by Sarah J. Maas

imgres-6.jpg

Read in: August & October

Year(s) Published: 2012,2013, & 2014

My rating: 5/5 stars (on all)

I have not read the Assassin’s blade or Queen of Shadows yet but I want to so badly! I loved all of this series so far and need to get caught up for the 5th book.

#9 Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

imgres-4

Read in: November

Year Published: 2015

My rating: 5/5 stars

This book! It was definitely going to be one of my top reads (and may be my favorite I can’t really decide). I loved the format of this book just as much as the characters. Read my full review here.

#10 Winter by Marissa Meyer

imgres-4

Read in: November

Year Published: 2015

My rating: 5/5 stars

Winter brought the conclusion to the Lunar Chronicles series and I was so sad yet super excited for this book. I loved getting to see all of my OTPs and all the Lunar rivals and action in this book. Read my full review here.

 

That’s all of my top reads but here are some honorable mentions from this year!

The Marvels by Brian Selznick – 5/5 stars 

I just recently finished this book and I am in love with it. This book was beautifully written and illustrated. Read my full review here.

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell – 5/5 stars 

Another amazing book! I have loved everything that I have read of hers. Read my full review here.

The Giver by Lois Lowry – 4/5 stars 

I have wanted to read this quartet for a while and finally read the first one. I really enjoyed it, but I think I should have read it years ago when it was more around the right age range.

The Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor – 5/5 stars 

Everything about this book was amazing. From the characters to the magic to the writing. I loved all of it. Read my full review here.

Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury – 4/5 stars 

This was a school read but that does not mean I did not enjoy it less. I enjoyed the complexity of this book. It was such an entertaining read.

Bloodlines series by Richelle Mead – 5/5 stars 

I have only read the first 4 books but I love this series so much and I want to finish the series I just have to get the next books. (Adrian is my BAE :D)

Jackaby by William Ritter – 4.5/5 stars

I loved how this book was about solving cases of the supernatural but in a quirky and funny way. It was so funny and easy to read and enjoy. Read my full review here.

The White Rabbit Chronicles by Gena Showalter -5/5 stars 

This book combines my two favorite things: Zombies+ Alice in Wonderland. I continue to find that I love retellings and this one is one of my favorites.

 

Those are all of my honorable mentions. What were your favorite reads of 2015? Happy early New Year!

Leave a Reply

