Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

NOTE: This review will be spoiler free unless otherwise stated. 

2016-01-07_10.04.16_2.jpeg

Title: Everything, Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon

# of pages: 306

My rating: 5/5 stars

Song Choice(s): Cold as Ice by Foreigner

*Note: not all reviews will have song choices

The main reason I picked this book up was because I joined a book club on Instagram (@reading_Queens) and it’s the read for this month! I am so glad that I joined because I don’t think I would have picked this book otherwise.

First of all I cannot even begin to imagine what living as the main character would be like but I admire her so much because I don’t know that I could live that way.

Madeline and Olly are such adorable characters that I had the feels the whole time I was reading (and trust me I devoured this book in a couple hours) . I read the synopsis and was intrigued by the idea of her disease more than the relationship but quickly switched my thinking after meeting the characters.

Then there is the writing style. Yoon combines first person with IMs to drawings and lists. All of which I love. If you read my review of Illuminae you will know that I love different formats to books.

SPOILER I have to talk about something that may seem really stupid to most but is possibly my favorite part of the book. Zachariah’s first album name! “All apologies to the Rolling Stones, but my first album’s going to be called Between Rock and Roll and a Hard Place.” I mean come on is that not the best name for his album you have ever heard ;D (that’s supposed to be the crying laughing emoji but as I have stated before I am horrible with technology so it may not look like it!)  END SPOILER 

Another thing that I loved were the chapter names and how cute and funny they always were. Nicola Yoon combined all the right amounts of cute, funny, sweet, adventure, and just the right amount of fear and tension to create this amazing novel.

Overall this was obviously an awesome read for me, and I think it’s cute and adorable. Plus it has a beautiful cover which doesn’t hurt.

5/5 stars

*So I just got a notification that I have received 100 likes on my blog! Thank you so much for actually looking at and reading what I post!*

One thought on “Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

Leave a Reply

