Book Recommendations: January 2016

Time for some new recommendations! So I thought since it’s January it’s always about new resolutions for the year. January and December is when I feel like I read the most because I’m either really motivated to get started on my reading goal, or I’m trying to catch up on that goal I started in January. So my three topics for January are: Quick & Easy, Beasts of Books, and Short Stories! Let’s begin! πŸ™‚

Quick & Easy Books

So the point of this section is when we set our reading goal at a crazy number and just want to knock out as many books as possible but still enjoy them! Their short, sweet, and fast. ?

 

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

So I read this book in a few hours and I loved it! This book was cute, and an easy read. The storyline made it easy to get into quickly and format made it easy to read quickly. 5/5 stars. Read my full review here. (320 pages)

Paper Towns by John Green

John Green books I always feel like are easy reads because you just jump into the story and get caught up in it. I read this over the summer but I remember reading it inΒ a day, so I’m putting it on my list. I think I gave it 4/5 stars but don’t remember (305 pages)

Jackaby by William Ritter

I loved this book and I feel like the storyline alone could make people read it in a day. Other than that though it is a pretty short book that makes you laugh and keeps you on your toes at the same time. 4.5/5 stars. Read my full review here.Β  (299 pages)

Beasts of Books

This section is for the people who also like me want to get that huge sense of accomplishment from finishing a large book. When you make your resolution for reading and you know there all these books you want to read but you want to start with something that makes you feel like you accomplished a lot! πŸ˜€

Queen of Shadows by Sarah J. Maas

The fourth book in the Throne of Glass series and it is amazing! But it is also a pretty large book. While it may not be the biggest but a lot happens and I finished it this month. I definitely got my sense of accomplishment from it. 5/5 stars. Read my full review here. (648 pages)

City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

The mortal instruments series concludes with monster of a book. Trust me when I say this book is amazing with all that happens and it is worth all the pages! 5/5 stars. (725 pages)

The Lux Series by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Since I have only been able to find this series in it’s large bind-ups each one of these books are large but amazing. Truthfully I read the first one by staying up till 4am on a school night to finish. They are easy to read but are very large paperbacks. 5/5 stars (bk#1 800 pages) (bk#2 800 pages) (bk#3 352 pages) < book three isn’t that large but still good!

Short Stories

All of these were books that were assigned for school but that I loved! But what’s better than a short story to read when you don’t have much time but need to get closer to your goal?

The Pit and Pendulum by Edgar Allen Poe

This is one of my favorite Poe reads although I have read very little of his this one I loved so much! Plus it’s a nice short read that won’t take very long. 5/5 stars

The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka

Kafka makes such an interesting read in such few pages. This is great read and is nice short but has many great points. 3/5 stars

The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman

I was going to try and stop myself from recommending the same books but this one fits perfectly into this category. Another short yet wonderful read that will get you close to your goal! 5/5 stars

 

So that’s all of my recommendations! Do you have a favorite read that fit’s into any of these categories? Also comment and tell me if you have read any of these or read any from last month. πŸ˜€

3 thoughts on “Book Recommendations: January 2016

Leave a Reply

