A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

NOTE: All reviews will always be spoiler free unless otherwise stated! 🙂 

imgres

Title: A Court of Thorns and Roses

Author: Sarah J. Maas

# in series: first book in the ACOTAR series

# of pages: 416

My rating: 5/5 stars (can it be 6?)

First I want to thank a bunch of people who told me to read this on Instagram because I was close to a reading slump and this pulled me out of it! SO THANK YOU!!!:)

Also sorry that it took me so long to post this because I read this book like a week ago and haven’t posted this yet so… sorry!?

OKAY!! I loved this book so much! My favorite thing is that Maas included a index thing that tells you how to pronounce the names and places and things. That made the book that much better because if I miss pronounce a name I usually just go “ajsdklfje” in my head.

The characters. I loved the complexity to each, and how long it takes us to figure out their story whether vague details or the whole thing. Feyre, Tamlin, and Lucien are some of my all time favorite characters now! Truthfully most of my top favorite characters come from Maas books, which show how amazing she is!

The story. I have been trying to read more retellings and this one was definitely a favorite. I loved the subtle details that hinted throughout the story and I especially loved how this did not feel like insta-love.

The world. This world is so cool! I am still confused on a couple things so if you know the answer let me know! I loved how the Spring Court is eternally spring. Does that mean that the Dawn Court is eternally dawn and Night Court is always at night? Not just that but I loved how this world handles magic. They took such a overused topic and managed to make it feel new.

My overall opinion was that I loved it so much and would recommend to any retelling fan or anyone who liked the Throne of Glass series.

SPOILERS 

So the one thing I do not understand is the people who like Rhysand. I’m sorry if you do but someone explain to me what made you #TeamRhysand because I liked him in the way I liked Clancy from The Darkest Minds which is as this amazingly complex villain. I don’t really look at Rhysand in a romantic way for Feyre but if you do please explain why because I am curious! 🙂

END SPOILER 

5/5 stars

3 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

