The Siren by Kiera Cass

NOTE: All reviews are spoiler free unless otherwise stated! 

IMG_20160128_133446.jpeg

Title: The Siren

Author: Kiera Cass

# of pages: 327

My rating: 3/5 stars

Song Choices: Mr. Brightside by the Killers

*Note: not all reviews have song choices. 

On Tuesday when this book was released I dragged my brother to Target after school to get it. I was excited to read this book because I really enjoyed The Selection. Also I basically love anything that can fit into a Fantasy genre.

This book kind of disappointed me. I was expecting so much more and it didn’t follow through. The idea I loved but the execution was not there.

The characters. I have no problem with any of the characters. I loved all of them and thought that they fit really well into the story. Truthfully, they are mainly the reason that this book is 3 instead of 2 stars. They didn’t feel like her characters in The Selection because I actually enjoyed and understood them.

The plot. The plot was good, sirens living among humans but not being able to speak or else they would kill humans. It made sense. I also loved the idea of the Ocean as this female mother type character who has feelings. It made what they do more entertaining.

The execution/ the ending. The last 50 or so pages I wished never existed. It took what was a great story and made it horrible. I don’t know if that counts as a spoiler or not but I’m not mentioning anything specific. Also the plot line became very predictable and while I don’t mind figuring something out it was so obvious that we didn’t really need half of the book to resolve the problems.

Overall this book was good but not great. I enjoyed that idea more than the story and whle the characters were great the book as a whole was not. If you enjoyed this let me know why?

5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

