Music Friday: Books and Music Playlists

In my recent announcement post I talked about posting weekly posts about books and music. So here it is! Basically since this is an intro week I’m going to tell you about what kind of music I listen to and then talk about how I pick songs for books. (It’s mostly at random:D) Let’s get started!

First thing is that I don’t really buy music. I mean I did just buy the new Cage The Elephant CD (Tell me I’m pretty)  but generally I don’t buy music. I spend 99% of my money on books so it leaves little room for other things. I use Pandora to listen to music because my friend introduced it to me like 6 years ago and why change what isn’t broken (I feel like that’s something I’ve heard before) Yeah that’s how long I’ve gone without buying music. What I like about Pandora is it introduces you to other music because it doesn’t only play songs from the group that you create a station for. Also I don’t have Pandora One because I don’t know what it does other than get rid of ads.

Here’s the list of stations that I have on my Pandora station:

  • Panic! At the Disco
  • The Pretty Reckless 
  • Dorothy 
  • In This Moment 
  • ZZ Ward 
  • Florence + The Machine
  • Halestorm 
  • Queen 
  • Joan Jett 
  • AC/DC 
  • Yellowcard 
  • The Killers 
  • Bowling for Soup 
  • Cage The Elephant 
  • Grease (Original Cast Recording) 
  • Lindsey Stirling 
  • Classical for Studying
  • The Pigeon Detectives 
  • The Who
  • Imagine Dragons 
  • American Authors
  • OneRepublic 
  • Foreigner 
  • Brandon Flowers 
  • 60s, 70s, and 80s Hits 
  • Twenty One Pilots
  • Film Scores 
  • Indie Classical 
  • We The Kings 
  • Nathaniel Rateliff 
  • Night Sweats 
  • Travis 
  • The Blues Brothers
  • 50s Rock ‘n’ Roll 
  • Watsky 
  • Fall Out Boy 
  • Newsboys 
  • Evanescnce
  • Blink-182 
  • Jimmy Eat World 
  • 90s Alternative
  • The Beatles 
  • Journey 

Wow so I didn’t realize that I had that many stations but it kind of makes sense. I like to listen to music when I read and you can’t listen to the same genre for each book. Some books require classical and others hard rock. Most of these stations I may not have listened to for at least 6 months but they are there just in case :). My primary genre of music when I’m not reading is Rock.

For choosing which station to listen to while reading I usually spend about 15-40 pages of the book without music so I can get into the book and a feel for the characters. When I have a good feeling for how the book will be then I pick a station.  I’ll do an example with my most recent read: Omen Operation by Taylor Brooke.

  1. I opened the book (or turned on my laptop because this was an ebook) and read about 15 pages.
  2. Then I took a break and opened Pandora on my laptop, phone, tablet, etc.
  3. I scrolled through all of my stations looking for one that felt right.
    1. I usually listen to Rock or music to that effect for Sci-Fi or Fantasy, and Indie Rock or Classical for Contemporary or school books.
  4.  For Omen Operation I listened mostly to The Pretty Reckless, Halestorm, and Florence + The Machine. When I wrote the review I was listening to music on Youtube and the Bebe Rexha song came on.

So that’s basically how I pick my music out. (See it’s basically random!) Do you listen to music? What’s your favorite group? Let me know if you listen to any of these!! 🙂 <3<3

 

Leave a Reply

