Book Recommendations: February 2016

More recommendations! For February since it’s an odd month (you know without the normal 30 or 31 days) I would do Oddly Formatted, 1st Books in a Series, and Middle Grade Loves. Let’s get started! 🙂

Oddly Formatted 

These are all books that have unnatural formats. Whether it’s just pictures, or it has random stuff written in the margins. It’s just all of those weirdly awesome books.

Illuminae by Amie Kauffman and Jay Kristoff

If you haven’t heard of this book format then idk where you have been. Basically this is a case file and it is totally awesome. The format was so odd and yet inviting. You wanted to turn the page just so you could see what it would look like. 5/5 stars Review for it here.

The Marvels by Brian Selznick 

This is a middle grade but it isn’t going in that section because of it’s format. The first half of the book is completely made out of illustrations! The drawings are so pretty and do an amazing job of telling the story. 5/5 stars Review for it here.

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society  by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows 

So this one isn’t a really odd format but it is written in the style of letters. It provides for a great change in POVs and makes the story hysterical. I loved this book so much and this main character has some serious girl power. 5/5 stars. No review. Also if you have read this please comment and tell me because I haven’t found anyone who has.

1st in a Series 

Okay these are all books that the only the first book in the series is out and the second is coming out sometime this year! I thought it would be good for people to know of some good series and hop on that train before the series are over. 😀

A Court of Thorns and Roses  by Sarah J. Maas 

I just read this book last month and I loved it!! ❤ ❤ It was so amazing and if you have not read it jump on it before the next book is out!  A Court of Mist and Fury is out on May 3rd and I know I will be rushing to buy it right after school. Also I have a review for ACOTAR here. I gave it 5/5 stars

The Wrath and the Dawn  by Renée Ahdieh 

This book is awesome! I feel like you may not be able to understand my enthusiasm but I am so excited for the next book. Plus it’s a retelling and which I am beginning to fall in love with those. The Rose and the Dagger comes out on May 3rd also. So we know I’ll grab it along with ACOMAF haha 🙂 5/5 stars. and there is no review because I didn’t have this blog when I read it. 😦

Red Queen  by Victoria Aveyard 

I know this book has mixed reviews but I personally loved it! It had so many amazing factors and the villains in this book are awesome!!! You may want to start this one soon though because the second book, Glass Sword, comes out Feb. 9th. Another 5/5 star book, but no review because no blog at the time. 😦      {Also Glass Sword is already out now}

Middle Grade Loves

These are a collection of books that I read when I was actually in middle school although the first one was from elementary days it is one of my all time favorites so it’s included.

The Thief Lord  by Cornelia Funke 

I remember myself carrying this book around for months after I finished it because I was so proud of it. I was a book snob haha. It’s like 350 ish pages but in my mind it was 1,000+ and I wanted everyone to know I finished. haha but I really loved this book and I’m thinking of hosting a re-read athon type thing on this page where we read a part of this book each month so comment down below if you want to participate! 😀

Holly’s Heart Collection by Beverly Lewis 

My middle school book club had us read the second one in this series. YAH! the second one, and I have no clue why so my friends and I read the first one while reading the second one and then read the third one. Anyways I still really liked this series and thought it was funny and really weird.

Gone Away Lake  by Elizabeth Enright 

This was a summer reading book for me in middle school and I remember reading the second one too. When I was younger I had a serious problem with reading ghost stories and I can’t remember if this is one of them or not. But I mean I had a real problem like I only read them and would not look at a book unless it had ghosts in the summary. 🙂

 

These are my recommendations! I hope these are helpful and let me know if you read any of them or have in the past! 🙂 <3<3

 

Leave a Reply

