Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Note: All reviews are spoiler free unless otherwise stated! 

IMG_20160220_123302.jpeg

Title: Glass Sword

Author: Victoria Aveyard

# in series:  2nd book in the Red Queen trilogy

# of pages:   442

My rating: 3.5/5 stars

I was so excited for this book! In my top books of 2015 Red Queen was pretty high on that list. I had really high hopes for this book and it didn’t reach them.

Since I read Red Queen right when it came out last year I was kind of afraid that I wouldn’t remember everything but I think I remembered most when starting this book so it wasn’t a confusing beginning.

It was not hard to jump into this book. So much happens in the first few pages that you kind of just hit 30 or so pages before you even realize. The beginning was great! But then it kind of took a turn.

If you have not read the first book I’m sure you still have heard about how Aveyard writes these mind blowing betrayals. This book is no different, but she kind of goes overboard. This doesn’t really count as a spoiler I don’t think but she just had so many “betrayals” that it was kind of hard to focus on the stories because the first half of the book consisted of so many different twists.

The characters. uhh… I don’t really like them anymore. Mare was good to me because she was having all of those doubts about what she’s doing that sometimes isn’t really talked about in other books. Other characters though, they fell short for me.

The second half of the book got a little better though. I feel like it was just an okay book but there were times that I was really happy with it.

Overall it was good but there were just tons of small things that really bothered me and made the reading experience less than enjoyable. I feel bad for not liking this book because one of my most anticipated reads and I loved the last one so much! 😦

3.5/5 stars

6 thoughts on “Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

