Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

Note: All reviews are spoiler free unless otherwise stated! 

IMG_20160312_171334.jpeg

Title:  Lady Midnight

Author: Cassandra Clare

# in series: 1st book in the Dark Artifices Series

# of pages: 669

My rating: 5/5 stars

Just wow…I don’t even know what to do I feel like this is going to cause a book hangover! It’s so good and I dare say I think it’s better than The Mortal Instruments.

I would start off by saying that you should probably NOT read this book if you have not read both the Mortal Instruments and the Infernal Devices. Also a lot of people have said you need to read the novellas but I have not read any of the novellas or the Shadowhunters Codex but I don’t think I missed anything.

The new characters that get introduced are cute, quirky, and relatable. One of my favorite things is that this book is from the POV of characters who have grown up in the Shadowhunter world instead of being thrown into it like in the others.

All of the small references to characters in other series was so neat and I loved seeing even them just mentioned in passing. None of the references felt pushed or unnecessary, it all felt natural.

The beginning felt a little slow to get into, but that may be because I have not read any books from this world since last year. I loved getting to see how different each Institute, too.

Writing. Ahh the writing was so amazing to me. There were so many moments were you just get sucked in and forget that you are reading. I had to read this in between classes mostly and late at night so I was afraid that with the constant stopping I would not be able to jump right back into the world but I was.

Also there is (and I don’t think this is a spoiler) an Edgar Allen Poe references made and every time they brought him up I was so happy. In the Infernal Devices they reference A Tale of Two Cities which is my all time favorite classic and I’ve been recently getting into Poe’s works. So this just made me really happy that her characters like the same things as me.

So much happens in this book and all I can think about is that this is the first book. Like the first book is 669 pages! What is the final book going to be 1000+ pages? 😀

Overall this book is wonderful and I cannot wait for the next book in the series. All of the characters were amazing and you could easily jump right into the story.

5/5 stars

 

4 thoughts on “Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

  1. BOOKCEPTION21 says:

    I’m glad to hear that you won’t miss anything if you haven’t read the novellas. Now I can finally finish off the TMI series (as I was gonna wait for Tales of Shadowhunter Academy to come out in paperback) and start Lady Midnight. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

