The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Note: All reviews are spoiler free unless otherwise stated! 

imgres-1.jpg

Title: The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer

Author: Michelle Hodkin

# in series: 1st book in the Mara Dyer series

# of pages: 452

My rating: 4/5 stars

I was super intrigued about this book and while I went in not knowing much about I did know that it’s supposed to be eerie, spooky, creepy or whichever adjective you want to use that is like scary.

It wasn’t scary. Not to me at least and I can tell why it would seem spooky and stuff but personally I wasn’t scared or nervous while reading it. But that doesn’t mean that I did not enjoy the creepy nature of this book because it was great!

The only other thing that I did not like about the book was the romance. It felt not necessarily love-hate but more kind of insta-love with some hate. But I do like both of the characters and love them together but I think they got together too quickly.

One of my favorite things about this book was the idea where she doesn’t know what happened and it was great because you get to learn with her and everything felt realistic then, and that ending!!!! Without spoiling that ending is making want the next book more than ever.

Also I really liked the interactions between her and her family because sometimes YA tends to just take the family out of the picture but her family genuinely cared about her and what happened to her.

Overall I really liked this book and I don’t know specifically why but I just sat down and read the whole book in one sitting because I was just drawn in and then couldn’t stop. 😀

4/5 stars

9 thoughts on “The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

  1. Katie says:

    Glad you liked it–this is one of my favorites! I agree, the not knowing what’s real/what’s not was one of my favorite parts. Hope you enjoy the rest of the series too!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

