The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Note: All reviews are spoiler free unless otherwise stated! 

2016-04-24_03.35.03_1.jpeg

Title: The Evolution of Mara Dyer

Author: Michelle Hodkin

# in series: 2nd book in the Mara Dyer series

# of pages: 527

My rating: 5/5 stars

Song choice(s): wolves at the door by bad seed rising, haunting by halsey, private parts by halestorm, beautiful with you by halestorm

This book is so good! For some reason when I fall in love with a book or anything I basically forget all other descriptive adjectives besides “great”, “good”, or “amazing”. I just thought you would like to know because that’s most likely how this review will go.

First we are starting with the romance mainly because I didn’t enjoy it in the first book but I loved it in this one! There was just a better display of it here and plus we didn’t have that whole notion of a love-hate thing going on so it made it tons better.

The pacing was also perfect in this book. It was like a perfect rollercoaster. It kept you on the edge of your seat while never taking it too far or being too slow. There was never a moment that I thought should have been sped up or a moment that should be slowed down. It just had a flow to it that worked really well.

Along with that we have the scary factor. Again it wasn’t scary to me but it definitely had so many more factors added and I did get a little creeped out but again I didn’t think it was that bad! It had plenty of added features to be scary but none of them were personally terrifying.

The characters also felt better in this book. In the first one I felt a little disconnect from them but now I feel like they are more fleshed out and you can definitely understand them more. Plus with so much happening it would be kind of hard not to have any development.

Overall I really loved this book and I think that even though it wasn’t scary it was so good that it didn’t really matter (at least to me). With all that happens you kind of just fall into the book and forget you’re reading.

5/5 stars

2 thoughts on “The Evolution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Leave a Reply

