The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

Note: All reviews are spoiler free unless otherwise stated! 

4f0b8b70-a510-4d95-af9f-77bc85f6ed3a

Title: The Retribution of Mara Dyer

Author: Michelle Hodkin

# in series: 3rd book in the Mara Dyer Trilogy

# of pages: 470

My rating: 3.5/5 stars

Song Choice(s): bones by In this moment

Okay so like the rest of this series there were things that I did and didn’t like about the book. I’m going to start with what I don’t like because it’s more fun to talk about the negatives instead of the positives.

The inter-chapters that they started in the last book, were odd and in this one they didn’t work at the beginning. These flashback moments didn’t usually need a whole chapter and they almost always explained next to nothing until later in the book.

Going off of that point there was the fact that not just those chapters but the actual storyline left way TOO much to be resolved at the end and that just made it feel rushed. A lot happened in this book and while I liked that, if we took away 10% of it we could have had the resolutions happen gradually instead of having to be quickly rushed through at the end. Also with that there were parts that didn’t even get resolved at all or if they did I completely missed it.

The other thing that I didn’t like was the science explanations. In some cases it seemed explained really well and made sense but then there were parts where I was confused on if something was real or not and some of it I don’t think added to the story but rather made no sense to me.

Okay so now on to what I liked! The first good 60-70% of the book I really enjoyed because so much happened and it felt like there was a pretty good pacing with only a couple things moving fast.

Also Jamie!!! He is the main reason I like this series. I mean I wasn’t sure what to expect with this last book but who cares because Jamie is awesome and I need him as my best friend.

With the last line of the book I think it brought the entire story to a close, or as much of a close as it could. I enjoyed that they at least explained that in a way that worked. While I wasn’t a big fan of the why, I liked that it was included to end the series.

Overall there were ups and downs to this book but I think the writing style made it really easy to fly through the series even if I didn’t 100% enjoy it.

3.5/5 stars

3 thoughts on “The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin

  1. Louise / geniereads says:

    I have also just finished reading the Series, and I agree with you! I didn’t liked the last book very much, the ending was a bit rushed when there was still a lot of things needed to be resolved. AND YES, JAMIE! Such a great character. ❤ Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

