The Crown by Kiera Cass

Note: All reviews are spoiler free unless otherwise stated. Comment section however may contain spoilers 

2016-05-08_05.49.35_1.jpeg

Title: The Crown

Author: Kiera Cass

# in series: 5th book in the Selection series

# of pages: 278

My rating: 3/5 stars

Song Choice: save my life by ZZ Ward

I’m not one for sparkly or shiny things but I love the covers of this series! They are all so pretty and while you could never get me into those dresses I admire how pretty they look. 😛

Starting off for anyone who’s read the last book I like Eadlyn so much more now. In the previous book there was just that unlikability to her but in this one she definitely grew on me. Way more than America ever did!

Also I really loved that it talked on topics of sexism and dealt with the discrimination of the caste system that’s created in the series. With the sexism you have Eadlyn who is a princess who needs to get married and while it wasn’t completely her situation you get to see this nice level of control, as well wonderful handling of sexist problems that fell on her. The discrimination of the caste system was presented in this book and while I think she could have touched on the topics that occurred in the previous books more she handled the discrimination pretty well.

The romance still felt like insta-love to me and I didn’t really like it that much. With most books I can just ignore the romance but because of the kind of book this is, it’s hard to ignore. I’m fine with the relationship but I think it was pushed too quickly.

Overall the book was pretty good, but felt just “ehh” to me. I love the scene on p. 262-263 though!

3/5 stars

8 thoughts on “The Crown by Kiera Cass

Leave a Reply

