All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Note: all reviews are spoiler free unless otherwise stated, but comments may contain spoilers.

2016-05-08_01.45.39_1.jpeg

Title: All the Bright Places

Author: Jennifer Niven

# of pages: 378

My rating: 4/5 stars

Song Choice:  Lovely by Twenty One Pilots

This book is life.

I’ll be honest. I went into this book knowing almost nothing about it. All I knew was that it was a contemporary about a girl named Violet and a guy named Finch. I don’t know what I thought it would be about but definitely not this.

This novel deals heavily with suicide and mental illness so I feel compelled to give a trigger warning for that before I write the rest of my review.

There is an important message behind this book and it Niven does such an amazing job at portraying it. The characters are not the most upstanding or the perfect people that they are thought of and that’s the point. She did a great job of letting us understand their feelings. I wish that we could have the last parts of the book from a different POV just to add to the feeling that she created but I understand why she didn’t.

The topics of suicide and mental illness are heavy and I think she did a wonderful job on their portrayal because everyday I hear people say that they aren’t real or that if they are then those people are just crazy. This is an amazing way to open the eyes of those people to what mental illness is really .

Possibly my favorite thing about this book is the author’s note because it explains the book and talks about why she wanted to write this.

Overall I don’t really know what to say about this book because I think that it speaks for itself.

4/5 stars

 

11 thoughts on “All the Bright Places by Jennifer Niven

Leave a Reply

