A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

Note: all reviews are spoiler free, but comment sections may contain spoilers.

IMG_20160515_145950.jpeg

Title: A Court of Mist and Fury

Author: Sarah J. Maas

# in series:  2nd book in the ACOTAR trilogy

# of pages: 624

My rating: 4.5/5 stars

Before I started this book I kept wondering where Sarah J. Maas would take this because of ACOTAR being a retelling. Since the retelling was wrapped up in the last book that meant there was no specific plot for us. I have been hearing so many people talk about this book and I was so excited and this book definitely lived up to the hype.

Starting with the characters, Maas always creates such wonderfully eclectic characters and the new additions in this book are some of my favorites. The main characters all go through so much growth in this book. I really felt like I got to know them and you can definitely see how each has changed throughout the series so far. I especially loved the growth of Feyreh because when I started this book I was enraged at how she was acting but then slowly she grew and got tons better.

The plot was paced pretty well with it being slightly slower in the beginning but speading up to a pretty good pace relatively quickly. I didn’t feel like there were anytimes that she rushed through things and the second half of the book you could just easily fly through.

Maas also has the ability to make her readers do a complete 180. If you’ve read the book you know what I’m talking about. With the last one I was very skeptical of this thing but after being (I think) 20 or so pages in, I was fine with it. She does such an amazing job with it that honestly works so much better and I just loved it!

The emotions are erratic, tough, and wonderful all at the same time. I kept laughing, frowning, and sometimes being on the verge of yelling because of all the emotions that Maas leaked into the book.

Overall this book was spectacular and I now have to wait another year for the next one, but it will definitely be worth the wait!

4.5/5 stars

 

 

7 thoughts on “A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

  1. thriceread says:

    This review is so spot on. I wasn’t a huge fan of ACOTAR (which I was incredibly discouraged by because I’m obsessed with the Throne of Glass series), so I was really hesitant to read this one. But, 50 pages in and I was hooked. I feel this will easily be my favorite book of the year.

    – Eden

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

