UnWholly by Neal Shusterman

Note: all reviews are spoiler free but comments may contain spoilers

IMG_20160525_115215.jpeg

Title: UnWholly

Author: Neal Shusterman

# in series: 2nd book in the Unwind Dystology

# of pages: 402

My rating: 4/5 stars


Finally I’ve continued this series! I think I read the first book almost a year ago and it’s taken me this long to finally pick up the next one. Ughh I get so sidetracked.

We start around where the last book left off but we have some added new characters and while I came to enjoy the new ones at the beginning it felt like too many different POVs. They kind of all muddled together and got a little confusing. They eventually were able to separate themselves once you got the character development.

One of my favorite things was that Shusterman created beautiful inter-chapters. There were chapters that took place from inanimate objects POVs, like airplanes. He uses these inter-chapters to show the emotion of the character without you being in their head and also gives amazing plot development which is something that I love.

Another amazing thing is that the entire series is basically based on ethical questions. “What is considered murder?” or “What is considered dying?”. Without the answer, he provides so many different versions of the answer that you see all of the different characters trying to figure out their moral compass and decide right and wrong.

Pacing is one of the few things that I don’t think worked out perfectly. He breaks the book up into parts or “sub-sections” but the beginning was a little slow and too much happened at the end. I really enjoyed the ending and it makes you want the next book but it moved quickly with little time for you to think because it was pushed to the next character.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and want to keep reading the series, if only to see what the outcome of the ethical questions are. But really this series is pretty great and I think a quick read.

4/5 stars

2 thoughts on “UnWholly by Neal Shusterman

Leave a Reply

