ARC Review: Mythical by Michael Weekly

Note: all reviews are spoiler free but comment section may contain spoilers.

dbfe4247-021d-45d5-876f-93573d19c0e0

Title: Mythical

Author: Michael Weekly

# in series: 2nd book in the Mystical trilogy

# of pages: 374

My rating: 4/5 stars

Release Date: June 7th, 2016


I received an e-book ARC copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

AHH… I … Okay let me try again.

This book has so many amazing qualities and and mixes so many different Mystical qualities (get it? :D) that it’s hard not to enjoy it.

Starting with the pacing, which was just perfect. There was the perfect blend of action, adventure, and some amazing characters. There were never moments that were too slow that I got bored, or a scene moving too quickly that I couldn’t follow. It just flowed.

The characters were incredible, especially Eliza Rose who goes through and entire journey of self-discovery throughout this book. She faces so many challenges that she just gets thrust into and manages to do an amazing job. Christian, who is newly introduced main character, adds such humor and confusion into the mix. Any time he is around I was conflicted on whether or not you could trust or even like him, but then he’d say something and I’d think the opposite. I guess I basically turned into Eliza in that sense.

Action was a major part and probably my favorite. All of the fight scenes were executed so well that I felt like you could feel the battle scene happening. Eliza is intense and has some major girl power throughout this.

The plot twists. Throughout Michael has you and Eliza continually guessing who to trust, who is good, who is bad, and just basically questioning everything. It was wonderful. I loved not being sure of who was who and what was what it made the mystery that much better.

Throughout, there is this new emerging self v. self, where a certain character is having almost an internal battle. Some of my favorite lines were the internal conflict that happens with this character. They were so witty and funny. It kind of reminded me of the White Rabbit Chronicles.

Overall this was so great and I’m so glad that I got to read, now I just have to wait for the 3rd one.

4/5 stars


P.S. I plan on doing a “Bookish Thoughts” for this book but I’m going to post it on June 7th when it’s officially released!! 😛

One thought on “ARC Review: Mythical by Michael Weekly

Leave a Reply

