The Last Star by Rick Yancey

Note: all reviews are spoiler free but comment section may contain spoilers

43d64c5c-21c4-4d4d-8101-6db7f1db0ec0

Title: The Last Star

Author: Rick Yancey

# in series: 3rd book in the 5th Wave Trilogy

# of pages: 338

My rating: 4/5 stars


If you haven’t read this series yet, seriously put down whatever you are doing and read them. They are amazing!

Starting off I loved how Yancey always splits his books up into sections. For this he used each day as the split which I personally loved because it was broken up really nicely.With the main focus of the book being time and counting down, the day-split really added a new level of anticipation while making you also feel the anxiety that the characters had of what will happen next, or maybe what won’t happen. While I really enjoyed that I did not love the pacing. It felt slightly off and some parts dragged a little more than others.

But just because there was some slow parts does not mean it lacked in the action department. There were so many intense action scenes and even if they were small scenes the action is probably one of my favorite parts. Every fight scene had so many elements and perspectives that I just loved reading them.

The main characters were great though, and while I never have personally liked Cassie that much she was pretty great this time around. Also there was so much character growth in this final book and I think it goes with all the POV switches which gave new insight to the characters. Ringer is 100% my favorite character of all time because she is just a total badass.

Okay now for the ending which was just WHAT!?!!? At the end of the last book I was totally convinced that something else was happening and at first I was so confused because I was sure that I was right but now. Now I’m surprised and kind of perplexed. If anyone has read this let me know your thoughts on the ending because I was so confused at first.ย While the ending was a little confusing I really loved it at the same time. The whole last section had so many little things that perfectly wrapped up the story to me.

Yancey’s writing style in this was completely amazing and like the other ones it just has this really nice flow and he uses so many different ways to describe simple things. He uses detail to put emphasis on certain things and less on others which creates a perfect blend to describe things without it ever getting boring.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and it may have moved slowly but it was also really action packed and amazing.

4/5 stars

2 thoughts on “The Last Star by Rick Yancey

  1. QuirkyVictorian says:

    I love this book so much! I’m glad to hear that I’m not the only one who disliked Cassie through most of the series; it was starting to feel like I was. I just couldn’t stand some of her illogical decisions and irrelevant thoughts. But by the end? Oh yes. My respect for her grew to astronomical proportions. And can we appreciate the metaphorical resonance of a girl who once said “I am humanity” actually absorbing the sum experience of all humans?!

    I was incredibly satisfied with the ending. I’ve not read anything else by Rick Yancey, but I would definitely consider it in the future, because I’m quite impressed with the series as a whole, and this book in particular.

    Like

Leave a Reply

