ARC Review: Unplugged by Donna Freitas

Note: all reviews are spoiler free but comments may contain spoilers

529d724e-6bc0-4d7d-988a-74d1ff5b268d

Title: Unplugged

Author: Donna Freitas

# in series: 1st book in The Wired series

# of pages: 425

Publish Date: June 21st, 2016

My rating: 4/5 stars

4 stars


Summary From Goodreads:

Humanity is split into the App World and the Real World—an extravagant

virtual world for the wealthy and a dying physical world for the poor. 

Years ago, Skylar Cruz’s family sent her to the App World for a chance at 

a better life.Now Skye is a nobody, a virtual sixteen-year-old girl 

without any glamorous effects or expensive downloads to make her stand out

in the App World. Yet none of that matters to Skye. All she wants is a 

chance to unplug and see her mother and sister again.But when the borders

between worlds suddenly close, Skye loses that chance. Desperate to reach 

her family, Skye risks everything to get back to the physical world. Once 

she arrives, however, she discovers a much larger, darker reality than the

one she remembers. In the tradition of M. T. Anderson’s Feed and Scott

Westerfeld’s Uglies, Unplugged kicks off a thrilling and timely sci-fi 

series for teens from an award-winning writer.

*I received a free copy in exchange for a honest review*

Starting off with this world. I have a thing for amazing worlds and this one was so cool. I mean there’s a virtual world (AppWorld) and then there’s our world (RealWorld). It was such an interesting contrast and to see how the people living in the virtual world thought vs. the real world. I seriously enjoyed the world and Freitas amazing world building. The whole appeal of the App world being for the rich and the obvious faction between the people was so intriguing and was probably the main reason that the pacing didn’t bother me.

The pacing in this book I thought was fantastic. It didn’t really follow a classic procedure to me because the beginning was very slow but I really enjoyed that. Because the beginning was slowed down you really got to experience the App World and understand so many things. It was a great move because it really helped add world building without being so obvious.

Skye, the main character was fabulous. I really loved her in this book and she was such a strong main character. There were so many times where I thought I would be annoyed with her but I wasn’t. She was just amazing. She’s strong and vulnerable but is definitely a great female lead.

Probably the only thing that I disliked about this book was the Tropes. Seriously there may not have been that many but to me it felt like there were Tropes forming everywhere. I don’t want to say which ones because of spoilers but I was really enjoying the book until I started noticing them. Then I just couldn’t get them out of my mind.

However, the natural progression of some of the Tropes where not terrible. I’m not usually a big fan of Tropes and there were definitely some I didn’t like but there were also some subtle things that I did like about some of them. A couple of them didn’t feel pushed or like it was an obligation to include.

The idea of being plugged in to live a virtual life was such an odd concept and I was really interested and understanding it. Skye’s want to be unplugged for “Service” was really compelling and progression of the book definitely helped explain it really well.

Overall I really enjoyed this book, even if it has a ton of Tropes.

4/5 stars

 

 

2 thoughts on “ARC Review: Unplugged by Donna Freitas

Leave a Reply

