This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

Note: all reviews are spoiler free but comments may contain spoilers

f6e9d203-f510-48c0-b528-9f46bd7f5e1e

Title: This is Where it Ends

Author: Marieke Nijkamp

# of pages: 282

My rating: 4/5 stars

4 stars


Okay after 24 hours I think I can try and put my feelings in to words, but if not this is just a warning because I’m seriously unsure of how write this review after reading this book.

When I started this I knew it would be intense but I had no idea just how intense. I am at a loss of words. It was so haunting and captivating. Within a couple of pages I was completely absorbed in the story and I spent my afternoon sitting in one position until finished it.

The pacing was so annoyingly wonderful. Each chapter is just 2-3 minutes. Knowing that the whole book only takes place over 54 minutes each chapter counting down to when it was over, was just intense. Plus the story doesn’t open how I expected and the build-up was so incredible, that I was just anxious to see what what would happen next.

I am in awe of this book. I was not expecting it to hit me as hard as it did. I’ve heard some mixed reviews and was not sure if I would enjoy it but I did so much. It was so amazing and emotional.

The characters and character development was spectacular. I loved how they are all so different and so similar at the same time. I really loved how they were all developed at different stages so you focused at one character at a time.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and I’m seriously unsure how to phrase how much I liked it so hopefully this wasn’t too terrible.

4/5 stars

9 thoughts on “This is Where it Ends by Marieke Nijkamp

Leave a Reply

