The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

*all reviews are spoiler free*

abe98b8f-6b83-4cb6-9092-733570351211

Title: The Dream Thieves

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

# in series: 2nd book in the Raven Cycle

# of pages: 437

My rating: 5/5 stars

Song choice(s):  Don’t threaten my with a good time by P!ATD , and Unbreakable by Fireflight

5 stars


Ahh so I literately just finished this book but instead of organizing my thoughts into a coherent review I am going to quickly write this so I can start on the next one ASAP. So I apologize in advance if this review makes no sense.

I honestly don’t know where to start so I’m going to start with the characters because they are my favorite. In the last book I loved all of the characters and loved how they each got their own development and this one’s no different. With each page I could feel myself getting to know the characters better and loving them more. Even the newly introduced characters were developed so well and I loved getting to read about them and see how they all fit into the story.

One of the things I was very confused about at the end of the last book was the romance. Is there going to be a triangle? I can confidently say that I am happier with the romance at the end of this book. While the romance didn’t develop a lot I really enjoyed the very natural progression of it. It felt like a realistic thing and like something I could see really happening.

The pacing was perfect. It had the perfect amount of slow moments with just the right amount of action and suspense. Everything that happened was not rushed or convoluted but was just well… perfect.

Probably my favorite thing is that we got to see each one of the boys in their own light by themselves. While Noah kind of had his moment last book we still got to see him in a new light as well as Ronan, Adam, and Gansey. I really loved getting to have all those private moments that helped show their growth and development as a character.

Blue was also so amazing in this. I loved how she grew and developed and there were so many great scenes where she stands up for what she believes in and tackles feminism and deals with sexist things in such a perfect way. I truly loved and admired how strong she is as a female lead.

I really enjoyed that the other members of 300 Fox Way were way more present in this book. We had scenes focusing solely on those members excluding the “main” characters. It really added more elements and depths to the book that I really liked.

Overall I obviously loved this book as I used that word probably 20 times in this review but if you haven’t read this series you seriously need to go ahead and do that now.

5/5 stars

6 thoughts on “The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

Leave a Reply

