The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

*all reviews are spoiler free*

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Title: The Raven King

Author: Maggie Stiefvater

# in series: 4th book in the Raven Cycle

# of pages: 438

My rating: 5/5 stars

5 stars


Maggie Stiefvater is the most amazing person because she was able to create this wonderful series. I was honestly in awe at how great this series was and how I managed to so quickly fall in love with it.

With every installment the series gains new characters and new perspectives. I thought with this final book there was no way Stiefvater could come up with more complex and unique characters but I was wrong. She always manages to surprise me with how creative each character is. The group of main characters ability to easily accept and add these new characters to the story amazes me. All of the new characters were always so different but you still had that one thing that connected them all together.

The previous book, Blue Lily, Lily Blue, was filled with developing relationships between the main characters and this book took that to the next level. It was no longer about the group of boys and Blue but the group of them together. Along with their group feeling like one there was a wonderfully large amount of one-on-one development between the characters.

The pacing was so amazing and wonderful. There were so many slow building moments, and times full of so much tension you could feel it. The pacing only added to all of this and created the perfect bubble of anxiety/anticipation that just makes you want to keep reading.

I have been nervous about the progress of the romance in this book because the first book felt like a set up for a love triangle. I was so happy to see how it all played out in the end and getting to see a YA series that is not continually surrounding a romance made me love it even more.

One thing I felt changed was the writing style. I’ve noticed that throughout the series the writing style slightly changed with each book to fits it’s style and it was something I truly loved. I don’t really know how to describe the change because it never changed narration or anything super significant but it felt like maybe she just changed the way she described things in each installment to fit. I’m not even sure if there was a writing style change but with each book I felt like there was a subtle shift for it and it worked with how the story played out.

Overall this series was so wonderful and I am so glad I finally picked it up. The last three books definitely went into my all time favorites shelf on Goodreads.

5/5 stars

4 thoughts on “The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater

Leave a Reply

