Graceling by Kristin Cashore

*all reviews are spoiler free*

IMG_0107.JPG

Title: Graceling

Author: Kristin Cashore

# in series: 1st book in the Graceling Realm Trilogy

# of pages: 471

My rating: 3.5/ stars

Song Choice: 99 Problems by Hugo(Rock)

3.5 stars


I was completely drawn in by this new version to a fantasy book. I don’t think anyone can really say that they’ve read something like this because it was so different. All of the new elements in this fantasy novel made it feel nothing like anything I’ve ever read.

While I was in love with the world and amazed to discover this was a debut novel there was just something about the book that I didn’t like. I don’t even know exactly what it is but after reading it, it just felt like an “ehh” book.

The characters were interesting and I enjoyed how the development progressed naturally with easy ways to get backstory. Po and Katsa were both interesting but I honestly did not care about the progression of their friendship into any form of a relationship. For me the main reason to continue the book was plot and world-building but not the characters. I felt all of the characters were strong in their own way but even with developed backstories there wasn’t much that got me to want to read about them.

Another thing that felt off to me was the pacing. While it had it’s ups and downs it ultimately was just not flowing like it should. I really enjoyed the beginning more than the end. It started off with a slow gradual movement but quickly dove into some odd pacing that I had to struggle to read.

I did however love the writing style. I am a big fan of the third person narrative and enjoyed the way Cashore used it in this book. Her descriptions were written so that you could easily fly through this book with little difficulty.

Overall I enjoyed the world and writing style but didn’t really care much about the characters.

3.5 stars

3 thoughts on “Graceling by Kristin Cashore

  1. Ashleigh says:

    It’s a shame you didn’t enjoy this book as much as you’d hoped! This has been on my TBR for ages now, I don’t think I’ll ever actually get round to it to be honest. At least you liked the writing though, it wasn’t all bad πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

