This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

*all reviews are spoiler free*

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Title: This Savage Song

Author: Victoria Schwab

# in series: 1st book in the Monsters of Verity Series

# of pages: 427

My rating: 5/5 stars

Song Choice: Ain’t No Rest for the Wicked by Cage the Elephant, Crawl by Breaking Benjamin

5 stars


VICTORIA SCHWAB DOES IT AGAIN! If you somehow didn’t know I am completely and entirely in love with her ADSOM series and dying for the final book. I figured I would go into this book and enjoy but not that I would love it because nothing could top her other series. But I loved this book!

The world that Schwab created was so different than anything I’ve ever read. It was basically a post-apocalyptic world where monsters have formed and run wild. All of the super creepy children’s rhymes made the world that much better.

“Corsai, Corsai, tooth and claw,
Shadow and bone will eat you raw.
Malchai, Malchai, sharp and sly,
Smile and bite and drink you dry.”
“Sunai, Sunai, eyes like coal,
Sing you a song and steal your soul.”

While I loved the world and all of its darkness it wasn’t really scary to me. I don’t think that Schwab intended on trying to make it scary but she definitely made the world weird, dark, and creepy which I loved.

Along with her dark and twisted world were the masterful characters. She managed to take these two opposite characters and give us dual POVs with a third person narrative and create such a great flow to the story. My usual problem with dual POVs is that the story tends to become choppy or repeat scenes for the benefit of the POVs but with this it didn’t have any of that. It had a perfect flow to and wonderful characters to go with it. August was this sheltered child-like character who is on a journey of self discovery. Kate was a dark and vulnerable character whose only goal was to prove herself. They had a great contrast that worked really well when they collided in the story.

With the dual POV I did feel like the pacing was a little slow in the beginning. I didn’t find myself minding so much though because the development for each character was very necessary before we got any farther into the story. Those slow moments were more than needed because when it gets fast paced later on all of the development and growth was already done so you could focus on the story.

My favorite thing about This Savage Song was the romance. There wasn’t one. Every time I review a book that doesn’t focus on a romance I say that it’s refreshing, but it’s true. The fact that we got to focus on world development and character growth and basically just experiencing the darkness of this book I was so happy to not see a romance forming. I think that a romance would have probably ruined the pacing and made the book lose it’s dark side because we would be too focused on how characters react.

Overall I loved this series and need to read more Victoria Schwab (V.E. Schwab) before the next book comes out.

5/5 stars

 

12 thoughts on “This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

Leave a Reply

