Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne

*all reviews are spoiler free*

dcd1db46-afcc-4678-b741-90afb298c351.jpg

Title: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Author(s): J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, Jack Thorne

# in series: 8th book in the Harry Potter Series

# of pages: 311

My rating: 5/5 stars

5 stars


Prepare for an incoherent stream of consciousness because I did not think that I could love the Harry Potter series anymore than I already did but I was very wrong.

I am almost at a loss of words for this book. I knew that it was going to be in a different format and that with “new” characters there was a really big chance this book could fail, so I tried to keep my expectations low as I entered the story. But that was pointless because within ten pages I was hooked and in love. I didn’t think I would enjoy the play platform as much as I did but it was surprisingly fine and made flying through the book easy.

The characters were incredible and with so much of the old group showing up it created a nice divide between each. Obviously Scorpius and Albus shined through as some of my all time favorite Harry Potter characters. I was truly in love with how unique they were but I could also see small resemblances to past favorites as well.

Another wonderful thing was the storyline/plot itself. I don’t want to spoil anything about it because going into it blind is probably your best bet but I can say I really enjoyed it. It was probably a perfect decision because it brought back so many old memories from earlier in the series and made you feel more connected to past characters.

With the book being broken up into “Parts” and “Acts” I kind of thought it was would create unnecessary cliffhangers like some books do but was happily surprised that the book being broken up this way didn’t affect the overall pacing or flow of the story.

J.K. Rowling is such an amazing person and while I know she didn’t write this book by herself I am continually amazed by how she manages to create such wonderful worlds and incredible characters that you can’t help but fall in love with.

Overall this book was spectacular though I expected nothing less and it makes me love the series even more.

5/5 stars

5 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling, John Tiffany, and Jack Thorne

  1. Ashleigh says:

    Yess I’m glad you enjoyed it! I loved it too, especially Scorpius! Completely agree with everything you said – I have a review going up on Friday, so no doubt it’ll sound a lot like yours opinion-wise πŸ˜† Lovely review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

