Skarlet by Thomas Emson

*all reviews are spoiler free*

Title: Skarlet

Author: Thomas Emson

# in series:Β 1st book in the Vampire Trinity

# of pages: 425

My rating: 3/5 stars

3 stars


I got this book from my BooklyBox subscription, and I believe we are doing a podcast sometime this month on the book so look for that!

Starting off with the storyline, which was really weird but in a good way. I found myself really enjoying the weird progression of the story-people take a pill and die but come back to life as a vampire. It was pretty different from the generic vampire stories that you hear about all the time and I liked that.

I also really enjoyed the characters themselves. I mean the relationships between Lithgow and Lawton were hilarious. There was also a good amount of character development for each and interesting and unique backstories for them all.

What I didn’t really like was the pacing. The pacing felt really off and kind of unnatural. I mean there were so many fast paced scenes back to back but then it felt like there were very few spaced out.

Additionally I was not a big fan of the writing style. I enjoyed third person narrative but didn’t really like the way things were described and set up. It created a weird disconnect between the reader and the story.

However, I did really enjoy the realistic effect that it had. I mean as realistic as vampires get but it felt like when you were reading that this could have happened and I enjoy when books have a sense of realism to them.

Overall I enjoyed the book minus the disconnect that the writing style provided.

3/5 stars

One thought on “Skarlet by Thomas Emson

Leave a Reply

