Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

*all reviews are spoiler free*

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Title: Shadow and Bone

Author: Leigh Bardugo

# in series: 1st book in the Grisha Trilogy

# of pages: 356

My rating: 5/5 stars

5 stars


ย I am so glad that I decided to buy the entire trilogy before starting because I can feel a marathon coming on!

Let’s start with the characters because they were possibly the greatest thing about this book. I was completely attached to each and every one. From the eerie yet mysterious Darkling to the smart and quick Mal. All of them were special and had so much growth that you were able to connect so well. While we had less backstory it actually worked because it kept you wanting more with every page.

Turning to the world itself was amazing. I was continually perplexed by the Grisha and how they fit into the world and just the world itself. I really loved that the world was built along with you, so that with each chapter there was a little more development to the world instead of just throwing it all in at the beginning. With the really slow world building it really helped you connect with the main character because it supported most of her lifestyle and provided the necessary development.

The writing style surprised me. I enjoy first person but it usually isn’t my favorite but Bardugo’s first person was wonderful. Every description and sentence felt so connected to Alina that you didn’t feel disconnected from her because of an off writing style. Her writing had such an easy flow that it grew with the character and descriptions seemed to slowly change as the world progressed which was probably my favorite thing because it showed all of the character growth that had happened to Alina.

Overall I really don’t know what else to say because I am dying to start the next book. ๐Ÿ˜€

5/5 stars

4 thoughts on “Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

  1. Adalyn @ Glittering Reads says:

    I’m so glad you enjoyed this one, it’s one of my favorites! This series is definitely full of cliches, but I still loved it all the same. The Darkling is my favorite character as well, and I did not see that end twist with him coming up. I hope you enjoy the rest of this series as much as I did!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

