Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

*all reviews are spoiler free*

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Title: Siege and Storm

Author: Leigh Bardugo

# in series: 2nd book in the Grisha Trilogy

# of pages: 432

My rating: 5/5 stars

Song choice: Monster by Skillet

5 stars


This series will never cease to amaze me with just how great it is.

I feel like I have to start off with the characters because again Bardugo created such intricate and yet wonderful characters. I mean we have the previous main characters like the ever wonderful Darkling, Mal, and Alina but now we have Sturmhond/Nikolai and Tamar and Tolya who are all new and each so amazing. Her ability to create an eclectic group who are all so different amazes me. Nikolai is obviously my favorite of the new crew because I mean he is hilarious, but all her new characters just blended into the story so seamlessly that they almost didn’t even feel new at all.

Then we have the new and amazing plot. After what happened at the end of the last book I was convinced that this book would have to be a let down. There was almost no way that Bardugo could add to this story and not mess up the previously perfect story. But she managed to find a way to add this new plot and work it so wonderfully that I’m not worried forย Ruin and Rising at all.

The last book left me perplexed with how great her world building was and just basically everything about living in Ravka sounded amazing. This book was no different because with every new chapter we got to see more of the world and it created such a great contrast to how the last book handled world building and I loved that.

Also I felt like her writing style continued to grow as Alina progressed throughout the story. The gradual change felt more noticeable as I looked back over the book as a whole but while reading it worked so easily that it went almost unrecognized.

Overall this was just as wonderful as the first and I honestly don’t know why I waited so long to pick up this series.

5/5 stars

One thought on “Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

