Soundless by Richelle Mead

*all reviews are spoiler free*

IMG_0620.JPG

Title: Soundless

Author: Richelle Mead

# of pages: 266

My rating: 3.5/5 stars

3.5 stars


Β For the few who probably don’t know I love Richelle Mead and she has basically become an auto buy author so when BookOutlet had this book on sale I had to buy it.

Starting off with the characters which was probably my favorite part of the story. Fei, Li, and Zhang were so unique but also so interesting that they really helped you connect with the story. The best part of the main character, Fei, was getting to learn about hearing through her perspective because she was just incredible at understanding something new and getting to hear about it from such a different perspective was incredible.

One of the hit and miss things about this book was the plot itself. I was in love with the idea of a world where people cannot hear and then one girl regains that sense but the story just did not pan out right. I felt like there was a lot of dragging to the story and there was a not a lot that happened in the overall story.

But something I did love, as I always do with a Richelle Mead book, was the writing style. I felt like I could see a definite change in this novel compared to the others I’ve read (The Vampire Academy Series andΒ theΒ Bloodlines Series) but it helped make this story have it’s own unique flow. They way she described things fit perfectly with the quiet nature of the book and created such a great and haunting way to describe a world with no hearing.

The combination of the writing style and the characters made the story pretty amazing although I felt that the actual story line left some things to be desired, overall it was still another great book by Richelle Mead.

3.5/5 stars

Leave a Reply

