Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

*all reviews are spoiler free*

url

Title: Since You’ve Been Gone

Author: Morgan Matson

# of pages: 449

My rating: 3.5/5 stars3.5 stars


A back to back contemporary? Truthfully the synopsis of this book didn’t really make me want to read it but I had heard so many great things about it that I decided to bypass my thoughts on it and give it a try.

I was completely surprised by how quickly I flew through this book and actually enjoyed it. While the storyline took me a little to get into the pacing was so close to perfect that it made for a quick and really enjoyable read.

Plus I really enjoyed that this book didn’t focus too much on the romance of the novel. I know that may sound weird because it was a major romancy (is that a word?) book but it also had major focuses on the friendships that were already there and that develop through the book and I felt that there was more importance placed on those than the relationship which I liked.

Speaking of the characters, I really like all of them so much. I didn’t feel particularly connected to any of them in the way that like ten years from now I would tell a stranger about them, but I really enjoyed that they were complex and relatable plus they had great growth and development to them.

My favorite thing was probably the list, which is essentially the plot. I have recently fallen in love with the idea of my friends and I taking a spontaneous road trip somewhere or doing something that is slightly Thoreau-esque but even though I don’t think I could have completed that list, I was really excited about it because it felt like a really spontaneous thing to do.

Overall I really liked this book and I enjoyed the nice focus it had on friendships over relationships.

3.5/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Leave a Reply

