Riven by Sarah Bryant

*all reviews are spoiler free*

Title: Riven

Author: Sarah Bryant

# in series: 2nd book in the Bound Trilogy

# of pages: 450

My rating: 4/5 stars

Song Choice: Wrong Side of Heaven by Five Finger Death Punch, Nightmare by Avenged Sevenfold (explicit), Fallen Angel by Three Days Grace

4 stars


I am awed by just how quickly I read this book, but it was so amazing that I suppose I probably shouldn’t be.

After the way the previous book in this series ended I knew I would be picking it up immediately and I’m glad I did. This installment took a different direction than I had expected but I really liked that. Bryant managed to continually confuse me while always keeping me interested.

Plus we get to see even more characters that were completely amazing. With older characters obviously reappearing we also got to see some knew ones which helped the growth and development feel natural but also gave some characters a lot of necessary backstory.

I really liked how Bryant set this series up because it was as if you were learning everything with the main character. The entire time you read, even in third person narrative, you still have such a bond to the main character because you keep learning about everything along with Sophie. When books do that it’s nice because to me it keeps it from having a disconnect or feeling like the author just expected you to understand.

Also the plot in this book was interesting. Honestly at first I wasn’t quite sure about it but I ended up really enjoying it and played out pretty well I thought too.

Overall I am in no state to write this review because I am dying to have the next book in my hands but until then I will be content with my other books πŸ™‚

4/5 stars

Leave a Reply

