ARC Review: Threatening Souls by Nicole Lambert

*all reviews are spoiler free*


Title: Threatening Souls

Author: Nicole Lambert

# in series: 1st book in Threatening Souls series

# of pages:Β 415

My rating: 4/5 stars

4 stars


Summary From Goodreads:

The sacrifices, the drama, the horror within.
In the year of 1860, a curse was performed over the suburb of Roseway, 
Washington, which rests about twenty miles south of Seattle, that killed 
nearly every living resident. After coming back to Earth as spirits, they 
form a twisted plan that not only provides them with bodies of their own 
but also kills off all who venture into Roseway in the future.
Thirteen-year-old Rebekah Jensen has lived a fine life in Marywood, 
Florida with two best friends, a clique that strives to make her one of 
them, and one of the most popular guys in school as her boyfriend. But all
that is about to change when the date of her arrival to Roseway nears,
when she starts to see things that she presumes are spiritsβ€”and she is 
sure that she had gone insane.
After moving to Roseway, she gets sucked into an illusion of the dead,
coming to regard Roseway as some sort of cult in which they worship a 
mysterious being that is introduced to her as the Master. Within the 
months of enduring Roseway, she finds out more about herself and her 
purpose in the suburb. Teaming up with a friend, who has a dark secret, 
Rebekah must put an end to the curse before she ends up like the rest of 
the victims.

*I received a free copy in exchange for an honest review*

I was sent this copy by the all amazing Melissa who is the creator behind The Polyethnic Publishing, and honestly from the moment I heard about this book I was super excited to read it and so the second this book came into my possession I could not put it down.

The characters developed so organically and the relationships that Rebekah formed once she finally went to Roseway felt in no way pushed. If anything the characters made the plot happen and helped push along all of the unexplained and keep you reading. One of my favorite parts about the characters was all of the mystery and intrigue that went behind the walls of Roseway. The whole time it had you questioning about who was who and who were these spirits.

Then there was the whole plot about this cult like area which, Roseway, and I found that to be my favorite part. Not only was it super odd and mysterious but the town itself had a way to draw you in and make you question their motives. The plot surrounds Rebekah’s main reason for being drawn into Roseway and it was fascinating. I don’t really want to spoil that for you but trust me it’s really weird and interesting.

The entire time I was reading I kept wanting to know more and more about what was going to happen and honestly could barely put this book down. The third person narrative only furthered my need to finish the book and made connecting to all of the characters that much easier. I loved that Lambert had random POV switches that gave so much development and insight into each person.

I really loved that the plot and storyline all felt new. This was truly unlike any other book I’ve read before and I enjoyed it that much more. This book combines so many different elements and did it seamlessly. Overall the mystery behind Roseway drew me in but the writing style and organic story kept me reading.

4/5 stars

4 thoughts on “ARC Review: Threatening Souls by Nicole Lambert

Leave a Reply

