Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

*all reviews are spoiler free*

imgres

Title: Crooked Kingdom

Author: Leigh Bardugo

# in series: 2nd book in the Six of Crows duology

# of pages: 535

My rating: 5/5 stars

Song Choice: Heathens by Twenty One Pilots

5 stars


This book… I honestly do not know how long this review will be because I finished this book last night and it was so good but I’m also at a loss of words because of how emotional it was. So if this review becomes an incoherent babble just know it’s not because the book was bad but because it was so good.

Okay so after about a three or four day break I think I have recovered enough from the amazingness of this book to at least write a semi coherent review.

I am thanking my wonderful procrastination skills that I did not read the first book in the series right when it came out. I even drove to B&N to buy it on release day. Thanking myself a thousand times over for being too lazy to pick it up because this duology needs to be marathoned. When the first one was over I knew I had to jump into the next one immediately, and I’m glad I did.

Probably the thing that I loved the most about this series was the characters. I feel certain I touched on this topic in my review for the first installment,Β Six of Crows, but seriously these characters are possibly some of the greatest flawed characters to ever be created. Someone could tell me tomorrow that Bardugo plans to write another twelve books just based on these characters and I would be screaming for months. That’s how great these characters are. They honestly are so unique in every way and I really don’t know how to describe them without ruining all of the development in this book.

Speaking of that the development throughout this book was spectacular. It was honestly so exciting just to see all of these characters grow and get so many backstories that we did not previously have. It was all just so great.

As always with Bardugo we have the plot to end all plots. And let me tell you this one was no different. It kept me on the edge of my bed (so much so I may have fallen off once or twice) and reading well into the night just to know what happened.

After so many reviews of Bardugo’s books you would think I would get tired of her writing style but you would be wrong. With every new release I fall more and more in love with the amazing way that she can write.

Overall I obviously loved this book and let me tell you I cried. hard. at the end of this book. I wasn’t expecting the end of this series because I honestly thought this was going to be more than a duology so the ending hit me really hard.

Like I said above I tried to be coherent but this is just as incoherent as always so hopefully you have a Wraith with you that can help you decipher my thoughts and feelings.

5/5 stars (but like really I’d give 6 if I could)

2 thoughts on “Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

Leave a Reply

