The Archived by Victoria Schwab

*all reviews are spoiler free*

2q

Title: The Archived

Author: Victoria Schwab

Series Status: 1st book in the Archived series

# of pages: 321

My rating: 5/5 stars

5 stars


Ahhh Victoria Schwab you steal my feelings again! Honestly the more of Schwab’s work that I read the more I fall in love with it.

Starting off where I always start when it comes to a Schwab novel and that is the world. No matter the world that she creates I always love them and this one is no different. This entire idea that we have Keepers and Librarians who keep the dead where they should be is so unique and kinda creepy but in the best way. I have never heard anything like this before and I don’t think there’s another book out there that could even come close to the world she created. The only downfall to this world was that there’s not enough of it for me!! As with every single one of her books I always want every single little detail about her complex world and I don’t have it this time!? Now this is not because of any world building flaw on her part but instead that I loved her world so much I just want to learn everything about it.

Then moving to the characters which were rather different to me than her other characters but I really liked that. Roland makes me desperately need a red pair of Chucks so Β I can further identify with him. And Mac makes me feel like I should wear my house key around my neck and pretend it’s because of her and not Zoey 101. But the character relationships themselves where really interesting. With Mac and Wesley I felt like they had this really weird chemistry that only worked in this novel because I think if you took them out of this element they wouldn’t hold up as such great characters but because they are shaped by their world it really helped create this easy bonding and natural growth to the characters that otherwise would have felt rushed. I mean this book is 321 pages and you’ve emotionally attached me to so many characters and made me wish I could start the next book this very second. I’d say that’s some great character building.

One thing I know people said they didn’t like was the plot because it was predictable. To me there is no predictability in this plot solely because it was written by Schwab. She takes the most predictable plot and twists into her own thing so that even if you think it’s going one way you are still really surprised with it when it does. So I really liked the plot even if the romance was completely infuriated through out I still loved the level of emotion that she pushed into it.

I also really loved that there were these flashback moments at the beginning of each new chapter. It was seemingly random at the beginning that was only there to provide world building and character set ups but as the story progressed it blossomed into this amazing thing and made those little flashbacks mean so much more.

And I don’t know if this was common knowledge or if I am just late to the party but this apparently not a duology?!?!? I was always led to believe that there was only two books to this series but a quick Goodreads check showed me that there are plans for a possible third book although I don’t know if that it actually happening or not. Does anyone have a definite answer? Either way I’m picking upΒ Unbound ASAP but I would love to have a third one to get my hands on too.

So as you can obviously tell I really liked this book and even with infuriating romances and dead people being stored in their own library it was a really eerie yet amazing read from me and I can’t wait for the sequel.

5/5 stars

6 thoughts on “The Archived by Victoria Schwab

  1. Ashleigh says:

    I need to get this one! I’ve been meaning to read it ever since I read my first VE Schwab book a few years ago but somehow still haven’t gotten it. It’s good to see someone talking about it too, everyone’s focused on her new books now!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

