The Unbound by Victoria Schwab

*all reviews are spoiler free*

imgres

Title: The Unbound

Author: Victoria Schwab

Series Status: 2nd book in the Archived Series

# of pages:  353

My rating: 5/5 stars

5 stars


After The Archived I was sure that this book would be exceptional because the first was amazing and this one definitely was!

First off we are still in the perspective of Mackenzie who suddenly becomes this unreliable narrator, which I love. It adds this extra layer of mystery and confusion to it which only makes it that much better. Plus there’s the whole Mack and Wesley pair up again which I am a total sucker for.

Then we also have a reoccurring villain which wasn’t a surprise to me because honestly in a duology it’s unlikely she would introduce a new villain, plus this guy seems to have a hard time staying dead (winky face because this book is about dead people). I really love that she brought back this villain though because it added so much more depth to him as a villain and made you way more connected to his character.

As always I loved the plot and this one may have been even better than in the first installment. Or it may have just been because Hyde school sounds amazing and I want to go there now.

But one of my favorite things in all of it was the realism of the main character. I felt like Mack was suffering through some real mental issues that fit with what happened previously. Sometimes I think authors tend to skip over the after effects of all the trauma they put the main character through but in this case Schwab didn’t. Instead she made it a major theme and that made me really happy. PTSD and depression and all the other myriad of things that Mack experiences post book one really made  it feel realistic.

Overall I loved this book so much and this review is really short because I don’t know how to properly explain how amazing this was without spoiling the book so you should just read it to see why. 😀

5/5 stars

2 thoughts on “The Unbound by Victoria Schwab

Leave a Reply

