Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

*all reviews are spoiler free*

url

Title: Empire of Storms

Author:ย Sarah J. Maas

Series Status: 5th book in the Throne of Glass Series

# of pages: 689

My rating: 5/5 stars

5 stars


OMGSH THIS BOOK HAS CRUSHED MY SOUL!!!!!!

I have been longly awaiting this book to come out, so when it was released back in September I drove to 3 different stores to find it. And then a major reading slump happened and I never read it. So picking it up now I was obviously excited but also nervous that I would be fuzzy on certain details.

However I found that I easily slipped back into the story and all the past installments came to the forefront of my mind. It’s probably because of Maas’s superior writing style. I never had any moments where I had to think back on who that who or be confused because she creates such incredible and memorable characters.

These characters as always grew and changed and we learned so many hidden and amazing details about them. Plus we have LORCAN!!! Ohhhhh I think Lorcan is my new favorite character from the series. We finally got all of this development about the cadre and their pasts that brought them together as well as how much they are willing to sacrifice for each other. It was really great to see this new development after the big introduction to them inย Queen of Shadows.

Then the plot. Oh the plot. I mean it went so much further than I was thinking and kept me on the edge of my bed well into the night I was marathoning it. I knew Maas was going to do something big in this book I was not expecting this to happen. All I can really say about the plot with out spoilers is that so much happens and yet I don’t think the pacing was ruined. While the beginning was a little slower and the middle had some dragging moments the ending was crazy and action packed and really helped solidify the pacing that was kind of lacking at the beginning.

Overall this book was spectacular and ahh so emotion filled. And this review is pretty short because when you are 5 books into a series it’s really hard to mention anything with out spoiling.

5/5 stars

2 thoughts on “Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

Leave a Reply

