My Top 10 Books of 2016

2016 is almost over!! It was such a great reading year and trying to narrow this list down to ten was really hard. Also it may only be the middle of December so I may read more books before the year is over that were great but I wanted to go ahead and post my top 10. These are not in order of favorite just the order I read them.


#1- Morning Star by Pierce Brown

imgres-3Series Status: 3rd book the Red Rising Trilogy

Year Published: 2016

My rating: 5/5 stars

Review

Bookish Thoughts

Music Friday

Last year Red Rising was on my top favorites list so it’s no surprise that this one made it on to my list. This book was amazing and was such a great action packed wrap up to the series. Plus Brown is planning on making a spin off series and I can’t wait!

#2-A Gathering of Shadows by V.E. Schwab

imgres-4Series Status: 2nd book in the Shades of Magic Trilogy

Year Published: 2016

My rating: 5/5 stars

Review

 

 

 

Again another book series that was on my list last year. But this book was even better than the first and honestly if you haven’t picked up this series yet you need to. Like right now.

#3- The Bone Season/Mime Order by Samantha Shannon

picmonkey-collage.jpgSeries Status: 1st and 2nd books in the Bone Season series

Year(s) Published: 2013,2015

My rating: 5/5 stars

Review: Bone Season

Review: Mime Order

This series is incredible! I honestly wished I had waited to read this series because there are still so many books coming out for it and I don’t want to wait, I just want to read them all.

#4-The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

cover_277Series Status: 1st book in the Kingkiller Trilogy

Year Published: 2007

My rating: 5/5 stars

Review

 

 

 

Okay so this book is massive but don’t be intimidated because I can honestly say this is my favorite book of all time. Even now months after reading I just want to sit down and re read it. I have bought the second one but was waiting for a break to read it because it 1,000 pages. So hopefully I can get to that before the year is up.

#5- A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

imgres-3Series Status: 2nd book in the ACOTAR series

Year Published: 2016

My Rating: 5/5 stars

Review

 

 

 

This book!!! Oh this book is amazing but don’t enter into it lightly. Honestly I always want to re read this book because I need more Rhysand in my life.

#6- The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater 

Series Status: the entire Raven Cycle

Year(s) Published: 2012,2013,2014,2016

My Rating: 4/5 stars (Raven Boys), 5/5 stars (Dream Thieves, BLLB, The Raven King)

Review: Raven Boys

Review: Dream Thieves

Review: BLLB

Review: Raven King

Ahh this series was amazing and made me want to read all of Stiefvater’s other works. Plus I actually got to meet her this year at Yallfest and have my entire series signed.

#7-This Savage Song by Victoria (V.E.) Schwab

imgres-1Series Status: 1st book in the Monsters of Verity Duology

Year Published: 2016

My Rating: 5/5 stars

Review

 

 

 

This series sounds like it was made for me. Honestly it was so dark and eerie and has no romance to it. All of this book was amazing and I need the second one right now.

#8-Six of Crows/Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

soc.pngSeries Status: The Six of Crows Duology

Year(s) Published: 2015,2016

My rating: 5/5 stars

Review: Six of Crows

Review: Crooked Kingdom

 

I’m sure you already know about this series because it seems to have blown up this year. But this duology is the most amazing series ever and honestly at the end I cried hard. It was so good and I’m so sad it’s over.

#9- Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

51qhtzfrfgl-_sx329_bo1204203200_Series Status: 2nd book in the Illuminae Files

Year Published: 2016

My Rating: 5/5 stars

(no review)

 

 

 

 

 

So I’m just realizing now that I have not written a review for this book and I don’t know how. I will work on getting it posted soon. But anyways OMGSH this book was great. I thought the first one was amazing but I think this one was even better.

#10- The Archived/Unbound by Victoria (V.E.) Schwab

Series Status: The Archived Duology

Year Published: 2013,2014

My Rating: 5/5 stars

Review: Archived

Review: Unbound

As you can tell this year has been filled with me reading books by Schwab. From the first book I read until now I have never wavered in my love of her books. And I believe I only have one of her books left to read and then I will have read all that has been published. And I got to meet her this year and get four of them signed. But obviously I loved this series so much and was amazed at how quickly I read this duology.


So that’s my top books of 2016. I may post an “extras” to this later because it is the middle of December so there may be books I read yet that should go on the list but at the moment these are my favorites. What’s your favorite read of the year?

3 thoughts on “My Top 10 Books of 2016

Leave a Reply

