Rebel Genius by Michael Dante DiMartino

*all reviews are spoiler free*

27414432

Title: Rebel Genius

Author: Michael Dante DiMartino

Series Status: 1st book in the Geniuses Trilogy

# of pages: 364

My rating: 4/5 stars

4-star


I’m amazed and awed that I enjoyed this book so much. Although I probably shouldn’t be because this author co-created Avatar: The Last Airbender so I mean how could I not love his work?

So starting off with the fact that this is a middle grade book and I don’t really read middle grade books that often anymore. I thought that because of it’s directed age range I would find it hard to connect or the writing to simple but I was pleasantly surprised. DiMartino’s writing was exceptional and not only surprised me but also made me immediately want to buy anything else he’s ever written because it drew me in that quickly.

Then there’s this amazing world and plot. It was so incredibly crafted and rather complex for what I was expecting. The entire plot of these Geniuses being birds that connect with children and help them become artists and hone these powerful skills that come with it. The world itself seemed really complex and dragged me in so quickly that honestly remembering this was for middle grade was hard.While I completely loved this world and it’s amazing complexity I do have to question the exact age range for readers. That’s mostly because of how much I loved it but also I don’t remember much of my middle grade reads besides Harry Potter and I read that when I was older so it’s not a great comparison. As a whole though this world was amazing even if a bit complex for younger readers.

Plus the characters were equally as great. We mainly follow Giacomo who is twelve and homeless. The story follows him even if it’s in a third person narrative with the very occasional POV switch, which is something I rather enjoyed. Even though Giacomo kind of falls into “The Chosen One” Trope it doesn’t focus solely on him but rather a group of kids so I felt like the Trope wasn’t that bad. Plus with this random POV switch it added this great level of mystery to the novel.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and was surprised because of it’s reading level but will definitely be reading the next one in the series when it’s released.

4/5 stars

3 thoughts on “Rebel Genius by Michael Dante DiMartino

Leave a Reply

