Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs

*all reviews are spoiler free*

29358487.jpg

Title: Tales of the Peculiar

Author: Ransom Riggs

Series Status: 0.5 book/novella in the Miss Peregrine’s series

# of pages: 160

My rating: 4/5 stars

4-star


As many know I love this series dearly and it is partially the inspiration behind the name of “quirky and peculiar”. So with this new novella or companion novel or whatever we want to call it I was super excited.

While I was reading all of these amazing short stories I couldn’t help but feel like this is strangely something I would want to read to my future children as bedtime stories. Each little story is unique and has so many great lessons and morals behind them that even though some may label them as “dark” I think they give very realistic standards and things for children to aspire to. Obviously that was the purpose of this novel if you’ve read Riggs other books in this series but this just made me appreciate the series even more.

He also managed to make it so that some of the stories seemed to mirror other classics that we have read but with peculiar twists to them. Like to me The Locust short story felt eerily similar to The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka. I found myself enjoying the stories more as I realized that they were similar to other works that were “written” in the same time period that these took place in. It made it feel more realistic and make the peculiar world feel real.

I loved all of the hidden messages and meanings behind all of them as well as the general statement that’s made with all of his books: the importance of being peculiar. It was really great to have all of these stories that are mentioned throughout the main story actually come together and be fully there for us to enjoy.

Probably my favorite thing is that this book is “written by” Millard. Oh I loved Millard in the original series and he was probably my favorite character so getting to see him live up to his potential in this book was even better. I also loved all the little editors notes that he placed in as well as the comedic footnotes. Basically everything about Millard being mentioned in here I loved.

Then there’s the writing style which was so oddly unique to Riggs other works. While reading it I could tell it was Riggs writing but it also felt slightly changed as though he created it to mimic the actual history of the book itself. That probably makes no sense and I’m not really explaining it well but if you read it I think (hopefully) you’ll understand what I mean.

Also there were these beautiful illustrations at the start of each short story that were so breathtaking that I found myself just observing them to see how much of each story was fit into them.

Overall I really enjoyed this book and is definitely something I would just pick up on a whim and read a couple of the short stories from.

4/5 stars

One thought on “Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs

Leave a Reply

