The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

*all reviews are spoiler free*

26836910

Title: The Diabolic

Author: S.J. Kincaid

Series Status: Standalone

# of pages: 403

My rating: 3.5/5 stars

3-5-star


I honestly don’t know how I feel about this book. I’m so conflicted between liking and disliking it. So that’s why I gave it about the most neutral rating I could because I have no clue how to feel about this book!

I think I’m going to start with what I liked about this book. I loved our main character, Nemesis. She was most definitely my favorite part of this story because of her large amount of growth and development. Her complex thought process is what really made me love her. She didn’t view herself as human because of how the world is setup and it created this interesting internal struggle that added an element to the story. The contrast between her and all of the other characters because of this really solidified my interest in her.

Then the other thing that I loved about this book was the world itself. It just had this really unique feel to it. It was filled with this idea that knowledge wasn’t necessary and computers should handle everything because that’s what they are designed to do. This lack of knowledge and basic ignorance throughout all the people made it a really interesting dystopian world. The world was really different and that was something that made me really enjoy it. There wasn’t a super complex building to this world but it felt like you could easily slip into this world without much development necessary.

I also really loved the writing style that Kincaid had. Her first person narrative felt easy to read but also had an amazing way of describing things. She uses this really naive yet dangerous character to build this world and the characters around her.

After those though there isn’t much else that I liked. I wasn’t personally invested in any of the characters other than Nemesis. I don’t think that there was a lack of development on them or anything but I just never felt any sort of attachment to any of them.

Then there was the love interest/romance which was probably one of the more annoying things in this book. It felt unnecessary. I think that if Kincaid had completely excluded this love relationship I would have loved this way more. The relationship felt really pushed and the way they began to fall for each other felt similar to other books.

Plus this book just seemed to kill characters with out any great reason. It wasn’t that this was a bad trait in nature but there was no real sympathy for these deaths because of how they happened and the lack of connection there was to the characters.

The pacing in this book just felt all over. The first 100 pages felt really slow, but then the next part of the book had way too much happening to draw into a resolution by the end.Β I honestly think that if this book was a series it would have been way better. I could see all of the ideas Kincaid was forming for this book and was generally interested in them but then something else would happen. It felt like there were too many things combined into one small book. I wish this was a series so that with great pacing we could have an amazing story played out because I didn’t feel like that happened.

Overall I felt like I loved and hated this book so I don’t really have any idea on what my real feeling was about it.

3.5/5 stars

4 thoughts on “The Diabolic by S.J. Kincaid

  1. Paige @ Between Reality says:

    I completely get what you said in your last paragraph. SO many times there are books that don’t need to be a series that are series and then books that need to be series, but aren’t. I get that the middle ground is hard, but when a small book has too many great parts (like you said) that would go wonderfully in a series, it drives me crazy because I KNOW this could be awesome, but one book can only hold so much.
    For some reason I thought I had bought this book already, but I looked and I didn’t. Would you say it’s still worth reading, like if you’re bored and need something to fill time, or it’s best to just take a book from your TBR list?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

